Creamy Potato Leek Soup II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2011
So Easy and tastes amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Snoqualmie, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2011
bland and heavy on the bacon
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2011
I have made an easier or more tastier Leek & Potatoe soup. The only modification made was to partially puree it with 3/4 of the bacon, then stiring in the remainder before serving it and topping it with a old cheddar cheese. My family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brampton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2011
Wow! I made this with leeks and potatoes from my garden and it was awesome. The perfect comfort meal on a chilly fall day. I actually didn't change a thing with this recipe and it was fantastic. A hit with my wife and kids as well. Thanks for sharing this great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Griffin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Coon Rapids, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2011
my friend always makes this for me and I LOVE IT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by patty

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: North Andover, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2011
Fantastic and so easy to make. I added a pepper blend to the broth while cooking the potatoes and also added some fresh chives at the end. Delicious with some warmed bread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2011
Awesome flavor, easy to make! It's a win win for me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHRYS7

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elkhorn, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2011
This was a really good, basic potato leek soup. I used nearly a whole 5 pound bag of Yukon Gold potatoes, 4 smallish leeks, chicken stock and half and half. Make sure you slice and clean the leeks properly, slicing them the long way and then again in half-moons. Rinse them in a bowl of cold, clean water to wash away all the silt. I accidentally burned about 2/3 of my bacon, but it was all for the best because I think a whole pound might have made this too decadent for us. We thought the soup needed salt, but maybe that was because we didn't use all the bacon. I also ran a hand blender through the soup, making it mostly pureed but still a little chunky. It was rich with the half and half, but I'm sure heavy cream really does the trick. The was a good, hearty fall soup and I will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Glendale Heights, Illinois, USA
Living In: Winfield, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2011
Delicious flavor and texture. A good simple recipe with only 5 ingredients. I did rate it a 4 instead of a 5 because I did have to alter the proportions. I used 6 cups chx broth and 6 medium sized RED potatoes with skin intact, half the bacon and half the 1/2 n 1/2, and I added garlic. I wanted a more soupy than stewy texture. It STILL turned out with a gravy/stew-like consistency. Not a tragedy. But I could not imagine the consistency of the recipe as written. My 15 yr old loved it, my 9 yr old liked it (its hard to knock his socks off at this age!). I quite liked it as did my husband, and I will probably make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RouxZQ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Bruno, California, USA
Living In: Valencia, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jessica
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2011
flavorful! I followed directions as written. There is no need to doctor this recipe up! keep it simple! stay true to the recipe. My tips: cook bacon and saute leeks before you boil the potatoes. Add cooked leeks, bacon and cream as soon as potatoes are soft. After combining all ingredients, leave the soup on the stove for 30 minutes on low to let flavors blend....it will turn out creamy and full of flavor! My potatoes were perfect, careful not to overcook them. I used unpeeled red potatoes - I was not sure about "sliced" leeks, I thought it might turn out best "diced" - but, I made very thin slices- most of them opened up after I sauteed them. You could cut slices in half if you want to. It was an awesome and unique textured soup. I don't agree with the others who said to puree potatoes?? No way, I like my soup chunky. I garnished with shredded cheddar. Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 455) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Potato Leek Soup II

This potato leek soup is simple, rich, and oh so satisfying.

Potato Leek Soup III

See how to make a comforting, creamy potato and leek soup.

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States