Creamy Potato Leek Soup II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2011
Serious Soup This was really good, I made a few enhancements. a cup of corn, less bacon and added Ham and 3 Cloves of garlic. Oh and a little Thyme it's after Thanksgiving so I have it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michaelc

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Walnut Creek, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2011
I love this soup! It's the first one I tried when searching for a potato leek recipe and I've never looked any further. Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brenda Meyer

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2011
For a self proclaimed soup-a-holic this soup is incredible...both my husband and I ate WAAAAY too much. I followed the directions exactly -- used heavy cream. Next time I might try to use 1/2 & 1/2 but other than that AMAZING!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2011
great soup... nothing better than good soup on a rainy afternoon! I made a couple of changes... first I added 3 cups of broth and one cup of white wine (because when you cook with it you can drink it) I also added 3 sprays of rosemary to the leeks when I browned them and removed before adding to the soup! Also pepper is must in the recipe which it does not call for. I also only had regular milk 2% on hand and it worked wonders! All in all a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robynnsmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Windsor, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2011
Followed the recipe to a 'T' ----- plus blended over half of it in blender for a smooth soup --- only thing I would do different next time is DOUBLE everything as it was the most delicious, easiest, wonderful, flavorful soup EVER and was SO great had to share -- so there were no seconds :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RAINEY7

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2011
This was fabulous and pretty easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2011
Good recipe ~ I did make a few modifications. I did not use the bacon, so cooked the leeks in olive oil, also used half and half as I forgot to purchase the heavy cream! Great soup, all the family loved it. Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheBritishBaker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bakewell, Derbyshire, England, U.K.
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2011
Fabulous!!!! Will make again and again! I also only needed 1/2 a cup of heavy whipping cream. Thanks so much for a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by butterflymomma

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Riverside, California, USA
Living In: Temecula, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2011
Great recipe! Decided to try cooking with leeks for the first time and this recipe was perfect. Very easy to make. I only used about 6 slices of bacon. Instead of mixing the bacon into the soup, I sprinkled it on top before serving. Better presentation that way. Note that one of the other recipes called for onions - - I didn't use that recipe b/c the onions would overpower the mild flavor of the leeks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2011
I used nonfat milk & turkey bacon for this soup. It's a lot healthier this way. It's still very thick like a chowder. It's my new signature soup everyone loves this soup. * If you are going to use the turkey drippings to fry the leeks add a little olive oil because the turkey bacon isn't that greasy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 473) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Creamy Potato Leek Soup II

This potato leek soup is simple, rich, and oh so satisfying.

Potato Leek Soup III

See how to make a comforting, creamy potato and leek soup.

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States