Creamy Potato Leek Soup II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2014
Very good soup! I used mashed potatoes that I had left over as well as some diced ham that was also left over. I added a little prepared mustard for fun, about a teaspoon. Will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Thornton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2014
So yummy! I just ate two bowls and it was so simple, but the best potato soup I've ever had. I did use half and half instead of cream and I wasn't in the mood for bacon so left it out. I did use a little bacon grease to flavor the leeks. I loved the chicken broth instead of water to cook the potatoes in, it made it flavorful without extra richness. I'm sure making it exactly by the recipe would be wonderful, I just made to suit me. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mypuddin'

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Living In: Kingwood, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2014
Make a large pot of soup once a week and this is a new one on our love this list! Super easy and 1" thick sliced bacon is the way to go. We had the full cream so cheese wasn't desired. VERY FILLING! Perfect soup and salad meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Eagan, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2014
We loved this recipe! Thank you so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2014
i made this today. I did not use bacon but substituted a few tablespoons of butter. When it was done I took out some potato cubes and used my hand blender to purée what was left. Then I added the potaoes back in. It is a very simple soup base for a creamy soup. Add broccoli and cheddar, corn or bacon to make different soups. I love it as plain potao leek soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tiffini
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2014
Made it twice in 2 weeks, favourite soup I've made thus far!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2014
This was quite good! Nice soup, not too heavy. Nice flavours. Made exactly as recipe written. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Woodinville, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by irene orosz
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2014
Easy & simply delicious! I serve mine topped with croutons & grated parmesan cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2014
Such a delicious soup! We made soup bowls to go with it and it was amazing! We did part cream and part milk because we didn't have enough cream for the full 1 cup. It was fantastic. We also don't love bacon so we used some chicken sausage. It didn't leave enough grease to saute the leeks so we cooked those in olive oil. Honestly, it was fabulous. We will make this again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2014
Excellent, simple recipe! It was far more filling than I anticipated. I substituted whole milk for the cream and blended it with a hand blender. This will be lovely on cold winter nights!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dacula, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 464) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Creamy Potato Leek Soup II

This potato leek soup is simple, rich, and oh so satisfying.

Potato Leek Soup III

See how to make a comforting, creamy potato and leek soup.

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States