Creamy Potato Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2003
I really liked the idea of this recipe, I changed it a little bit. Instead of hash browns I used "real" potatoes. I couldn't find cream of potato soup so I used a can of condensed potato and leek soup. I used a little bit less sour cream than the recipe calls for. Instead of the cheddar cheese on the top I used mozarella and waited until about half way through the cooking time to add it. It took a lot longer to cook than 45 minutes. More like an hour and a half. But it was very yummy when it was finally finished.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2003
This was very good, although it could have used a little more seasoning. I will probably use O'Brien-style potatoes next time to add a little more oomph. Good recipe, though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2003
was okay. should have lowered temp a little as it browned on top but hash browns were not cooked completely. good for a "throw-together" side dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2003
My husband said that this was "killer", so we definitely loved it! As someone else suggested, I used hasbrown potato chunks and really like the texture. I also added some broccoli. We will definitely eat this a lot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2003
Great recipe. Will be using this over and over again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2003
Excellent! The sour cream really gives this one a nice tang. I'd recommend this recipe to everyone that's looking for a simple, economic and tasty way to make a potato side dish. Thanks for sharing the recipe Linda!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Merritt Island, Florida, USA
Living In: Saint Cloud, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2003
Very easy recipe to make. Not only is the flavor and texture wonderful, you get an extra benefit of a wonderful smell in the house while you're baking this dish. I increased the green onion but other than that, the proportions were great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2003
This was the best potato dish I've made so far....It was very creamy with lots of flavor. I did'nt have green onions but added chopped onions in the mix.Need to brown the onions to soften them before baking. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rose Martin Meirs

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Check, Virginia, USA
Living In: New Kent, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2002
Great family favorite! Thanks for the added twist it is great with the green onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Orlando, Florida, USA
Living In: Lake Mary, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2002
Very hearty dish, but a little too greasy (I recommend omitting the butter). As other reviewers suggested, I used light sour cream, light cheddar cheese, and light margarine to lessen the fat and also used cream of chicken and mushroom soup. Also added more onions and some garlic to spice up the otherwise somewhat bland sauce. Also added some cooked crumbled turkey bacon. My boyfriend, a meat and potatoes kind of guy, loved it, served with steamed broccoli.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 154) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Au Gratin Potatoes

See how to make the best creamy scalloped potatoes.

Potato Casserole

See how to make a rich, creamy potato casserole with a crispy top.

Cheesy Potato Casserole

See how to make super-simple cheesy potato casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States