Creamy Potato Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2014
Just once, I'd like someone to recommend amounts of "salt and pepper to taste". I'm not an experienced cook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2012
My family has been making this recipe for years with sliced whole potatoes but for large parties, I get tired of peeling potatoes. I went ahead and used the shredded hash browns and it was great. I tried it one time using the cubed potatoes and I did not like it. I also use cream of chicken soup and not potatoe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2012
Good. Used cream of chicken soup & half the sour cream, also threw in some real bacon bits. Also used cubed potatoes that had been thawed in fridge. As with others, added time to cooking. After adding 20 minutes in oven, taters still weren't done. Finally stuck dish in microwave for 5 minutes to finish. Will pre-cook taters next time. Kinda greasy (sopped some up w/paper towel) but good flavor. Seasoned w/Tony Chacheri's cajun seasoning-that stuff is great for anything that's slightly bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Chillicothe, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2011
Would have loved to give this recipe a 5, however, after making it exactly to the recipe posted, the prominent flavor was sour cream. That's really all I tasted. I would make again, however, I would definitely reduce the sour cream to 1 cup and add spices like garlic or onion powder (it was pretty bland). Personal preference would be to add a different flavor soup, such as cream of mushroom or cream of celery so that you have a flavor other than potato (this preference did not count towards rating).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Northampton, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Naugatuck, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2011
Very good. I reduced the sour cream to one cup and the butter to 2 Tbs based on the other reviews. I also thawed the O'brien potatoes in a colander under running water. I used reduced fat Cream of Celery soup & added garlic powder. I did not heat the soup, butter & cream prior to mixing in; I just mixed everything in a large bowl(stir the soup smooth first) and turned it into a casserole dish to bake. Sprinkled with paprika for color. It turned out very good and I did not have the mess of another saucepan to clean. Good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shortcut
Home Town: Lockport, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
Amazing! Loved this dish made it for a party and everyone loved it! I thawed the hash brown potatoes first and it tasted amazing. Def. will make again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
Loved this! I did use some suggestions and added a few of mine. I defrosted the shredded hash browns and I used 2 cups of soups instead of one. I sprinkled panko crumbs on top of the shredded cheese and baked at 400 for 10 minutes to brown crumbs then 350 for another 30 minutes. It came out fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2010
DE-LISH!!! I mixed part mild and part sharp cheese to make this dish (based on another review). We also found that the potatoes need to cook for a good 60 minutes in order for them to soften. Dish was devoured at our event! Everyone loved it. We ended up adding 4 c. cornflakes (crushed) combined with 2/3 stick of butter to make a crunchy topping. Yum!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2010
way to heavy for our tastes. felt like we had rocks in our stomachs afterwards. Won't be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fergus Falls, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2010
I am rating this with the changes I made. I used 6 oz lowfat greek yogurt and added a can of cheddar cheese soup along with the potato soup. I omitted the 2 cups of cheese and just sprinkled about 1/2 c. over the top and sprinkled panko crumbs over all. It was very creamy and nice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cabinluvn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jackson, Michigan, USA
Living In: Bangor, Wisconsin, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 154) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Potato Casserole

See how to make a rich, creamy potato casserole with a crispy top.

Cheesy Potato Casserole

See how to make super-simple cheesy potato casserole.

Creamy Au Gratin Potatoes

See how to make the best creamy scalloped potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States