Creamy Potato and Leek Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2015
Delicious and comforting soup! I used a combination of milk and half & half in place of heavy whipping cream. I also added some thyme.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2014
This was SUPER easy to make & tasty, might add some more veg next time , a tad salt & pepper to taste. Will make again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2013
This was a pretty good recipe. It could use some salt and pepper though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUSADAISY

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Delaware, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2013
I followed the recipe as instructed. I sweat leek, onions and pasted the garlic. Add the three ingredients with heavy cream didn't require much creamy and pureed it to a creamy texture. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Femmelle chef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Windsor Mill, Maryland, USA
Living In: Edgewood, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2013
I loved it! I used coconut oil to saute the leeks until they were a golden brown and yukon gold potatoes. I also used half and half instead of heavy cream which gave it a lighter consistency. I added some pepper to taste and I almost ate all four servings!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2012
This was so good and not very difficult at all! I followed other reviewer's advice and used 3 leeks and 3 potatoes, made a roux then stirred in the broth, garlic powder and celery salt (no fresh celery), then pureed til mostly smooth with a few soft chunks. Added about half of the amount of half-and-half but next time I'll try just using milk. Got rave reviews on this one - thanks!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookntaste

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: East Greenville, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2012
I cooked the leeks in the same pot I used for the potatoes to save washing an extra pot. Also, use Yukon Gold potatoes for an amazingly silky texture that doesn't even need cream added (I just thinned with milk). Mmm, leeks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2012
LOVE LOVE LOVE This recipe! Its a go-to for me on "soup days". I add quite a bit of salt and pepper for more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2012
Great, simple recipe. Like many of the others I made a few minor changes, I added some celery, salt, fresh ground pepper, fresh minced garlic and I used soya silk instead of heavy cream. It turned out great. I did wonder though if you added a bit of bacon when sauteing the leeks if that would also give it some nice flavour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2012
I used this as a starting point, but did not add chicken broth. I added spanish onions because I had some extra in the cupboard. I put in 8 cloves of garlic, some fresh ginger and then to thicken it I used milk, cheese and butter. I would probably add flour next time to make a roue before adding it to the soup. I also used a "Braun" hand-blender to blend the soup to get a nice creamy texture. Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Kingston, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 126) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Potato Leek Soup II

This potato leek soup is simple, rich, and oh so satisfying.

Potato Leek Soup III

See how to make a comforting, creamy potato and leek soup.

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States