Creamy Potato and Leek Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2013
This was a pretty good recipe. It could use some salt and pepper though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUSADAISY

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Delaware, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2013
I followed the recipe as instructed. I sweat leek, onions and pasted the garlic. Add the three ingredients with heavy cream didn't require much creamy and pureed it to a creamy texture. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Femmelle chef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Windsor Mill, Maryland, USA
Living In: Lorton, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2013
I loved it! I used coconut oil to saute the leeks until they were a golden brown and yukon gold potatoes. I also used half and half instead of heavy cream which gave it a lighter consistency. I added some pepper to taste and I almost ate all four servings!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2012
This was so good and not very difficult at all! I followed other reviewer's advice and used 3 leeks and 3 potatoes, made a roux then stirred in the broth, garlic powder and celery salt (no fresh celery), then pureed til mostly smooth with a few soft chunks. Added about half of the amount of half-and-half but next time I'll try just using milk. Got rave reviews on this one - thanks!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookntaste

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: East Greenville, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2012
I cooked the leeks in the same pot I used for the potatoes to save washing an extra pot. Also, use Yukon Gold potatoes for an amazingly silky texture that doesn't even need cream added (I just thinned with milk). Mmm, leeks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2012
LOVE LOVE LOVE This recipe! Its a go-to for me on "soup days". I add quite a bit of salt and pepper for more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2012
Great, simple recipe. Like many of the others I made a few minor changes, I added some celery, salt, fresh ground pepper, fresh minced garlic and I used soya silk instead of heavy cream. It turned out great. I did wonder though if you added a bit of bacon when sauteing the leeks if that would also give it some nice flavour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2012
I used this as a starting point, but did not add chicken broth. I added spanish onions because I had some extra in the cupboard. I put in 8 cloves of garlic, some fresh ginger and then to thicken it I used milk, cheese and butter. I would probably add flour next time to make a roue before adding it to the soup. I also used a "Braun" hand-blender to blend the soup to get a nice creamy texture. Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Kingston, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2012
i modified by using soymilk, earth balance soyspread, vegetable broth.....making it vegan. and i added nutmeg, garlic, celery and pepper. tasted fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2012
I make this all the time. Super easy and fast. Good to add for a starter for a big group of guests. For myself I'll make it and it lasts three days for me. Definitely my all time favourite recipe to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 124) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Potato Leek Soup II

This potato leek soup is simple, rich, and oh so satisfying.

Potato Leek Soup III

See how to make a comforting, creamy potato and leek soup.

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States