Creamy PHILLY Rose Penne Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2010
The dish was good but I think it needed more cream cheese. I used Ragu traditional spagetti sauce. I had a block of of cream cheese and added 3 ounces but next time I think I'll add 4 ounces (about 1/2 Cup) because the bite of the tomato sauce was really strong. I also mixed the basil into the sauce about 3 minutes before the sauce was done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by eclarkson09

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Kansas, USA
Living In: Overland Park, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2010
I didn't care for this. It reminded me of tomato soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2011
Can't go wrong with this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROXI3ROX

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2011
It tasted like tomato soup with pasta, but it was ok.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rae
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2011
As is not the greatest dish. I needed something quick and easy and I found this recipe. I changed it a ton after tasting the sauce. I added extra cream cheese, some cream to thin out the mix a bit, garlic, onion, and some Italian Cheeses. I had bits of parm, provolone, mozzarella and a bit of asiago cheeses in the fridge so I used a bit of everything. After all that this was pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sierra Vista, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2011
I agree the sauce is a bit thin and I used a 10 ounce container of the new cooking cream cheese. I also added shredded parmesan, sauteed onion and garlic, oregeno and baby peperoni. I liked it though and think this is a great basic recipe that can be built upon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeannine

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Washington, D.C., USA
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2012
Sorry, not a fan. But I used a garlic heavy pasta sauce...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SPKarenO

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2012
Incredibly easy to make and adjust to ones needs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2014
It was good....except first I cooked some onions and minced garlic. I also added heavy cream and then it was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Creamy Tomato & Tuna Penne Pasta

See a pasta dish that's based loosely on a classic diner lunch combo.

Goat Cheese and Arugula Over Penne

Fresh arugula and cherry tomatoes in a creamy, garlicky pasta sauce.

Greek Penne and Chicken

See how to make Greek chicken with feta cheese and artichokes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States