Creamy Pesto Shrimp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2004
This is the second time I've made this recipe. The first time, I followed the recipe exactly and thought it was way too oily, way too salty, and didn't have NEARLY enough basil flavor...and don't even get me started on the almost 45 grams of fat per serving!! So this time, I omitted all of the butter, used regular half and half instead of heavy cream, cut the parmesan to 1/2 cup, upped the pesto to 2/3 cup, and added about 2 tablespoons of dried basil (I would have loved to use fresh basil, but didn't have any :( - if using fresh, you should use 1/3 cup). This brought the fat down to a mere 13 grams of fat per serving. That's something I can handle!! Others had mentioned the sauce being too thing when using half and half, but mine was REALLY thick! The key may be to simmer it a bit longer on medium-low heat. Still needs more basil in my opinion, but I think using fresh as opposed to dried would do the trick!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
447 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RedRobynNAU

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Living In: Chandler, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2002
AWESOME! This is a keeper. I also used half and half to reduce the fat content. I grated fresh parmesan as well. It makes a big difference. One thing I will point out is to be careful when adding the parmesan. On my first try, my cream was too hot and it curdled. The second try, I took it off the stove and added the cheese slowly - stirring constantly. I also sauteed some mushrooms in fresh garlic and added them to the sauce along with two scallions and a diced tomato. I used frozen cooked shrimp with tail off. I defrosted them in the microwave and added them to the sauce. Cooked until warm and served over fettucine. It was delicious. My neighbors were over and were VERY impressed. Easy and elegant. A new family favorite. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
310 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2002
FABULOUS TASTE!! A minute before adding the parmesean cheese, I also added 1/2 cup of chopped red peppers, 1/2 cup chopped green peppers, 2 chopped green onions and 1 cup fresh sliced mushrooms! You can't get any better than that! Adds a more colorful presentation and at least you feel like your eating a little bit healthier (considering there is a 1/2 cup of butter and all that cream)! Just the same, it's restraunt quality and will make over and over! Thank you for the GREAT receipe!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
179 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2003
Want a lighter, more colorful version? - Use 2 cups half-and-half - Use 1/3 cup parmesan - Prep a diced green pepper or red pepper, or any fave veggies (aparagus, broccoli, mushrooms) ahead of time Throw the veggies in about three minutes before you add the parmesan (later than that, if you have already-tender veggies). Let it cook. If the sauce is thinnish, get a drinking glass, add 1/2 cup water and a tablespoon of corn starch (no fat!), stir, and stir into the dish once the mixture is dissolved.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
128 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2011
Awwwww, this is a real heart warmer but try this twist... I've been living in Italy for the last 20 years and in a fantastic restaurant in Milan a superb version of this treat is made.... instead of drowning the poor linguine in heavy cream, use two good dollops of mascarpone. There's less fat in the end, the linguini don't have to swim and there's no real need for butter. As a perfectionist, I cook the shrimp (scampi are even better) aside in a little olive oil, 2 whole cloves of garlic and a fourth cup of dry white wine for those 2 or 3 minutes necessary to make them succulent... then toss them into the mascarpone and linguini. Hey folks, the pasta must not be soupy! I just love this plate, you will too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
95 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Doctor Greg

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Bologna, Emilia-Romagna, Italy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2007
OH MY GOSH I can NOT say enough about this recipe!! It was AWESOME and soo easy! This is my 1st rating and I couldnt resist rating this one...I did do a few things different - nothing drastic though....I added about 4 cloves of minces garlic to butter, used 1 c heavy cream and 1 c skim milk (for calories purposes), since I used only half of the alloted hesvy cream, I added a little corn starch to thicken just a bit though (about tbsp). I also used already cooked shrimp - the KEY to using these is to run them under water first to defrost them...THEN add then to sauce (wont make the sauce so thin) I put the whole thing over wheat pasta soo good! Hope these tips help others!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
94 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2004
I cheat, and actually use a packaged creamy pesto sauce mix (Knorr...), but a TERRIFIC addition to this recipe is a can of diced Italian tomatoes. Just stir them in with the shrimp, and it combines with the pesto to make a beautiful sauce. Add some parmesan, and you've got a gourmet meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2002
I made this a little lower in fat by using lowfat margarine and half-and-half and it was awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2000
This is a great recipe. I doubled the amount of linguini and used a pound of imitation crab and one pound of shrimp. Most delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2002
This is definately the best alfredo sauce recipe. I added sauteed garlic and scallops to the sauce, very good! I made this twice, and I think the secret is to let the cream and butter mixture boil in a large pan so it gets good and thick. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 786) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Garlic Shrimp Linguine

Make elegant but easy garlic shrimp in a white wine and butter sauce.

Tri-Color Penne Pasta Salad with Shrimp

See how to make a colorful shrimp salad with grape tomatoes and penne pasta.

Shrimp Fettuccine Alfredo

Adding shrimp to this fettuccine makes it an elegant entree.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States