Creamy Pesto Shrimp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2011
I took the advice of other readers and omitted the butter completely. We used half and half instead and made sure to let it simmer longer. We also added some garlic and red pepper flakes. This was a hit and we will be making this again. Thank you for sharing this recipe although we did not follow the directions to a "t".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tInA*671*

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Yona, Yona, Guam
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2011
Great recipe and I did'nt change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2011
I followed suggestions and did this: 1/4 cup fake butter, 1 cup fat free half and half, 1 cup half and half, and the rest is the same. I also made my own pesto sauce. Honestly, there was something really lacking. If you want a mmm mmm good outcome to this, I suggest using real butter at least. It was good- anything with pesto is!- but just not grrreat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2011
The first two times I made this recipe, I followed it exactly as written. I thought it was awesome. The ladies present did not enjoy watching the fattening ingredients being poured in and one complained that it was too rich. The next two times that I've made it, I substituted half and half for the cream and margin for the butter. It still tasted great and it was hardly a noticeable difference, though not as rich as before. I've read reviewers complaining that using the half and half makes the sauce not thick enough -- but I found that it can be just as thick if you simply simmer it longer than the directions state. Great recipe, I'd recommend these substitutions to lower the fat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2011
Used whole milk but and upped the pesto to 2/3 of a cup. Otherwise I followed the directions and this was very good. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookingInSeattle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2011
good the first time,better the second. I had trouble with my sauce separating, I think the cream was too hot when I added the cheese and pesto. The next time I cooked the pasta and asparagus together, drained the water and added the already cooked thawed shrimp and pesto to the pot and returned stove top to reheat. Sprinkled with parmesan just before serving. All agreed this was much tastier ( and easier).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by greenthumb

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2011
Absolutely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melanie b

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2011
Loved it!!! i followed the advice and used half and half cream and about a 1 tbs of butter! I also added chopped green onions, diced tomatoes, basil, and garlic powder....very very good. Will def make again and its super easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2011
Ok..the recipe as stated is a fat greasy, oily mess but a great starting point. This is the way I made it: I started off cooking small container of Portabella mushrooms and garlic sauteed in Virgin Coconut oil (I replace this instead of butter in most recipes) or use olive oil. Put in same skillet and 2 TBS of Organic Butter and substituted half and half instead of cream. Let simmer for 10-12 min and I added 2 tsp of corn starch. (mixed corn starch with 3 TBS of cold water) Then I added the cooked mushrooms and simmered on med-low for 7-10 more min. Then I added 1/2 cup of homemade pesto I had in freezer which is super good by its self! I recommended Costco brand pesto if you don"t want to make homemade, which can be frozen as well. I added a less than 1/2c of parm (could of used less) and cooked for 5 more min. I then added all the shrimp when the last 3 min left on whole wheat pasta (as good as regular pasta) Once shrimp turn pink (don"t over cook) removed from heat. Ladled mixture over hot pasta and top with 2TBS of parm. WOW! Best pesto sauce I ever had,. Blows away any restaurant pesto I have had! Will try fat free half and half next time? Hope this helps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fuhebmtg

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2011
I made this last night for Valentine's Day dinner. It was really terrific, but I was shocked at how oily it was. Between the butter, the oil in the pesto, and the oil in the cheese it was just puddled with oil. Next time I will definitely make this without the butter. Otherwise, it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 774) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Garlic Shrimp Linguine

Make elegant but easy garlic shrimp in a white wine and butter sauce.

Tri-Color Penne Pasta Salad with Shrimp

See how to make a colorful shrimp salad with grape tomatoes and penne pasta.

Shrimp Fettuccine Alfredo

Adding shrimp to this fettuccine makes it an elegant entree.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States