Creamy Pesto Shrimp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2012
Do not substitute 1/2 and 1/2 for Heavy Cream! Try sauteing shrimp in olive oil and garlic before adding to pesto mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2012
I added Chantrelle mushrooms (saute at the start in the butter) and this was fabulous! I also substituted cream for half and half. We had this as our valentines dinner with chilled white wine. My husbandliked it so much he asked me to add it to our "tried and try" secret recipe book. Success!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2012
This has become a regular in our recipe line-up! It's quick and easy and freezes well. I like to double the recipe and freeze a dish for easy use on a busy night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2012
very tasty asnd easy to make
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SJMeehan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2011
This was a great recipe after I changed it up a bit. I followed and combined the advice of other reviews. To cut down on the very high fat content, I cut out the butter and did 1 cup of heavy cream and 1 cup of half-and-half. The sauce was nice and thick with this combo. I also used 1/2 cup or so of Parmesan and 2/3 cup of a good brand of Pesto. I also sauteed a carton of sliced mushrooms and an 1/3 cup of chopped onion in 2 teaspoons of jarred, minced garlic and some oil and then added it into the sauce. I added onion powder, garlic powder, a little salt, and some pepper to the sauce. At the end, I added a diced large tomato and some fresh basil (about 3 tablespoons, chopped) and chopped up the shrimp too. This was great paired with steamed asparagus, broccoli and cauliflower.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2011
This recipe was great as a base. I added to it - 2 cloves garlic, 1/2 green bell pepper, one extra large fresh mushroom, a dash of cayenne pepper and some crumbled feta cheese. It was amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2011
Great recipe - next time will try with some the changes others propose - might also use chicken tenderloins instead of the shrimp - will definitely make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SycamoreMan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2011
This is an awesome base for a great sauce! heres what I added and altered! 1 lb. pasta 1/2 stick butter 2 cups heavy cream 1 teaspoon black pepper 1 cup grated Parmesan cheese 1 cup pesto 1 lb. shrimp 1/2 can diced tomatoes 1 tablespoon cornstarch (to thicken it up) 2 cloves garlic (to Saute Shrimp) 2 tablespoon olive oil (to Saute Shrimp) I sautéed the shrimp separately in the olive oil and garlic with a little bit of pepper then tossed it in with the pasta and the sauce later... was SO GOOD! the tomatoes add great color.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2011
We love this recipe and use it all the time- but we always add 2-3 more tablespoons of pesto, than the recipe calls for- so that it is more flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Van Wert, Ohio, USA
Living In: Westmont, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2011
I used whipping cream, pesto sauce, chopped garlic, green onion, parmesan cheese and no salt or butter and it turned out amazing :) Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jason&Jenn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 790) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Garlic Shrimp Linguine

Make elegant but easy garlic shrimp in a white wine and butter sauce.

Tri-Color Penne Pasta Salad with Shrimp

See how to make a colorful shrimp salad with grape tomatoes and penne pasta.

Shrimp Fettuccine Alfredo

Adding shrimp to this fettuccine makes it an elegant entree.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States