Creamy Pesto Shrimp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2014
Excellent recipe. I did cut the butter in half and used a full pint of half and half instead of heavy cream for the healthier aspect. This dish would have been even more fantastic if I would have stuck to the recipe with the butter and cream. I also added in half an onion, half a red pepper and half a green pepper shortly before adding the Parmesan. The onion I have to have, the peppers were pretty much just for looks and texture. I also added in a couple shakes of cayenne pepper which I think really added to the flavor. The base recipe needs none of the improvements that I made, but I did like them with it. I will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by duboo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Langdon, North Dakota, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2014
Wow. I just make this recipe tonight. It was delicious. I cut the butter down to 1/4 cup, but next time I will completely eliminate it. I upped the pesto to 2/3 cup as some other viewers suggested an used half and half instead of heavy cream. Next time I will also add some crushed garlic. All in all, this recipe is really good and worth a try:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2014
Absolutely delicious! One of my favorite dishes to serve. I added crab meat as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2014
Family loved it. Used half the butter suggested, much more black pepper, no shrimp as none on hand. Did use half Romano, half Parmesan, again bc what was on hand. Will def make again and probably use scallops instead of shrimp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2014
I agree with some of the other reviews that the outcome of this recipe is delicious BUT way too oily. Even before reading the detailed reviews and looking at the ingredients I cut the butter quantity in half and it was still too oily! Pesto has a ton of oil already. For the next time I am considering not using any butter at all and making my own pesto so I am more in control of the amount of oil being used.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2014
I loved this recipe as-is, but will try some of the other reviewers tips. My kids never tire of this dish which is good because I bought an industrial pesto from Costco!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2014
Awesome!! I only used 1/4 cup Butter and 1 cup + 1 splash of Heavy Cream. I had plenty of frozen pesto that I had saved from making a big batch last summer, so I added about 1/2 cup of Pesto. I didn't measure the Parmesan but it was probably only 1/2 cup, not a full cup. Other than the measurements (of high fat ingredients) being lower and Pesto being higher, I made it exactly as written and everyone LOVED IT. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Becky1234

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Garner, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2014
This recipe so delicious I made pesto and linguine pasta , the additional I put is red pepper good combination too and my husband love it .. I try this again thank you..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
This is so tasty and easy! I used half and half as recommended by another reviewer and it worked out great. I may even make this the next time that I have company over!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
I've made this repeatedly and every time seems better than before... I love it with scallops or crab also!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 775) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Garlic Shrimp Linguine

Make elegant but easy garlic shrimp in a white wine and butter sauce.

Tri-Color Penne Pasta Salad with Shrimp

See how to make a colorful shrimp salad with grape tomatoes and penne pasta.

Shrimp Fettuccine Alfredo

Adding shrimp to this fettuccine makes it an elegant entree.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States