Creamy Pesto Pasta Salad with Chicken, Asparagus and Cherry Tomatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2009
Made this without chicken. When I tasted it, I could not figure out why it was boring. Well, I forgot to add the pesto. Fixed MY ERROR and NOW, it is wonderful! The whole family loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2009
Wonderful pasta salad! I made a batch and a half of dressing. I mixed the full recipe of dressing into the salad and let it chill for several hours. From other reviews I knew it would be dry so I saved the extra dressing to stir into the salad right before serving. It's even better on days two and three.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2009
Fantastic! Don't change a thing!! (although the chicken is not important in this one--I too left it out) I do have to admit to adding a little extra pesto too, because it brought such a wonderful flavor to the salad, Also remember to clip some fresh basil and sprinkle just a little on top for garnish--it's prettier, fresher looking, and tastes great! This is one of my new favorites.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2009
Really yummy flavors. I did roast the asparagus instead of boiling. Keeping the dressing seperate allows you to toss together just enough and save the rest for later. Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by susan

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Springfield, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2009
So GOOD!! I followed the ingredients list exactly, left nothing out. I stir fried the asparagus pieces in EVOO though instead of boiling. I got everything ready the day before I served it, which made the dressing lose the vinegar smell, it was great! Tossed the pasta with the pesto the day before but kept all other ingredients in separate baggies to combine before serving. THIS DISH IS DELISH. So good that I can't wait to take it somewhere and hear all the oohs and ahhs! It's a great lunch main dish, and for a dinner I think I will leave the chicken out but serve it as a side dish to chicken for a more formal presentation. Thanks for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Peoria, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2009
Wow! My new favorite salad. I used it as a side dish and left out the chicken. It was a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2009
This will be in my recipe box for a long time. I changed and added a few things too. I wasn't interested in the creamy part of the dressing, so I left it out and only added extra pesto. I also added black olives, small can sweet corn, and gorgonzola cheese. I took this to the office and there is nothing left, really good recipe, and great for the Texas summer heat. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2008
This is a great receipe, my whole family loved it. I made some changes: Added sliced olives, shredded monterey jack cheese, used a creamy garlic italian dressing instead of buttermilk, and used grape tomatoes instead of cherry. I think it would be good just as is, or add your own twist to it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2008
Don't use this sauce. It's great with plain cheese, perhaps the pesto without the creamy stuff.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robyn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2008
This is my new favorite pasta salad. As others sugguested I left out the chicken and used a 12oz box of pasta rather than 16oz. I used about 2/3 cup of store bought pesto and then added some chopped fresh basil leaves. I also bought buttermilk ranch dressing instead of making the buttermilk dressing in this recipe. I put it on the side, just in case people didn't want it on the salad. (Because it is really good with just the pesto) Everyone added it anyway and LOVED IT! This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda F.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lawrence, Kansas, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Mandarin Chicken Pasta Salad

See how to make a healthy Asian-inspired pasta salad with chicken.

Pesto Pasta with Chicken

A simple chicken pasta with pesto and sun-dried tomatoes.

Chicken Asiago and Orzo Pasta

Learn how to make an amazingly simple orzo and chicken pasta dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States