Creamy Pesto Pasta Salad with Chicken, Asparagus and Cherry Tomatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2007
Very good ingredients for the salad!! I made this the other day for a baby shower, and it turned out great but I wasn't too please with the dressing. I made the dressing the night before to let it sit and I even doubled it to make sure I had enough per other reviews. I dressed it an hour before the party and I couldn't really taste it at all... it was pretty dry. It didn't seem to matter to anyone else because all the ingredients are soo good alone! Next time I may try a creamier dressing though. Also, I didn't buy pine nuts- cause they are so expensive and I already had tons of walnuts and it turned out great!! Thanks for the recipe!! I'll def. make again just with a change to the dressing :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2007
I thought the recipe was delicious. It was the perfect summer dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2007
This salad was a refreshing main dish for warm days. I added freshly ground mixed pepper and freshly grated parmesan cheese (in addition to more salt). I also sprinkled the toasted pine nuts over the top right before serving, so they wouldn't get soft. This recipe makes a lot, so it is perfect for sharing. Definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2007
This was pretty good. I think it needed more garlic. I agree with the previous comment about not omitting the pine nuts - they really add something. Our grocery store was out of artichoke hearts so I left them out - something was missing and maybe that was it? Will give another try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by J

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 18, 2007
I made this to serve with hamburgers. My husband skipped the burgers and ate the salad. Best one so far.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2006
I just made this tonight for a dinner party and everybody loved it- had no problems giving away leftovers. I used a little less pasta and salt and threw in some red onion. The buttermilk in the dressing adds some bite and differentiates this dish from standard issue pasta salads. I'll definitely make this one again. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2006
I made this pasta salad for my daughter's 1st birthday and it was a hit! I adjusted the servings to serve 24. I refrigerated the dressing and it calmed down the heavy vinigar smell and it helped. I didn't have rice wine vinigar so I substituted red wine vinigar. I also didn't add the chicken as it was for a side dish. I also used corkscrew pasta. I do think next time I will add a little bit more pesto because we like pesto. Everyone at the party was asking for the recipe and it was even good the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2006
This is my new favorite pasta salad. I even left out the chicken because I was serving to a crowd with some vegetarians. My only suggestion is to use a 12oz box of pasta rather than 16oz. There was too much pasta and I ended up adding more of the other ingredients. The pine nuts are a must. Don't leave them out. Don't leave any of the ingredients out! This dish is excellent the way it is. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2006
I was surprised by the overpowering smell of the vinegar in the sauce. I put the sauce on and refrigerated it for about 20 minutes in hopes it would lose some of the strong smell. It did and this dish was absolutely delicious! I added a fresh mixture of romano, parmesan and asiago and will definitely make this again! P.S. Warmed up some leftovers for dinner tonight and served hot with fresh cheeses and it was definitely 5 stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Redmond, Washington, USA
Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2006
This was a delicious one-dish luncheon. We used marinated artichoke hearts instead of the plain ones.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Estacada, Oregon, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mandarin Chicken Pasta Salad

See how to make a healthy Asian-inspired pasta salad with chicken.

Pesto Pasta with Chicken

A simple chicken pasta with pesto and sun-dried tomatoes.

Chicken Asiago and Orzo Pasta

Learn how to make an amazingly simple orzo and chicken pasta dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States