Creamy Pesto Gnocchi with Italian Sausage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2014
This is a delicious dish. I made homemade basil pesto and added roma tomatoes to the original dish because my husband doesn't like peas. I also used low sodium turkey sausage that I bought from a local butcher. On top of that I finished it with a fat free half and half. Oh so yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2014
Loved it! I thought it had great flavor and followed the recipe. I used homemade pesto which I think makes a huge difference. Fresh, flavorful basil is the star of the dish. I did also add home grown tomatoes roasted in olive oil last summer...diced up. The tomatoes really vamped up the flavor of the basil. I added light cream as it said too even though several reviews said it wasn't needed. The cream adds...well...creaminess to the whole dish so I don't think I'll leave that out. Thanks for sharing! This will definitely be made again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barbara Milligan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Uccle, Brussels, Belgium
Living In: Derby, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2014
quick and easy recipe. tasty and somewhat healthy. not part of the recipe, but try not to overcook the gnocchi (as I did)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2013
Really tasty and fast. I used less meat and added in an orange pepper (I had one that needed to be used up), frozen regular peas in place of the snap peas so my kids would eat them, and homemade pesto. I tasted before and after adding the cream to see what I preferred and I ended up thinking it was not needed so next time I would not use it. Next time I would also drain the meat very thoroughly before mixing everything because my end product was too greasy/oily for my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mkstevens09

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ortonville, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lake Orion, Michigan, USA
Photo by BigShotsMom
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2013
This was superb! I made my own gnocchi from another member's (Manella) personal recipe and my own pesto from the last of my basil plant. Once the gnocchi was cooked it went together in no time. I used red and yellow peppers and frozen baby peas. This will be made often this winter. Thank again, Johnsonville!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BigShotsMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Long Beach, New York, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2013
Delicious! Will add this one to the recipe box. Made exactly as directed and turned out yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cheryl King
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2013
Yummy, easy, fun. Johnsonville scores again. I had an orange bell pepper, so that's what I used, but otherwise stuck to the recipe. It certainly would be easy to adjust the recipe to your tastes and what veggies or pasta you have on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheryl King

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
Photo by Diana71
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2013
This was an AMAZING recipe - so easy, so quick, and so gourmet. I added fresh spinach and subbed snap peas with frozen peas. Making this again for certain.(And I was OK with the amount of cream - I think it really added to the pesto.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diana71

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by Life Tastes Good
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2013
Love this! I couldn't find frozen gnocchi, so we made it with penne pasta. I am planning to make it again soon with homemade gnocchi! I made homemade pesto and made the recipe as is. It was delish with the penne pasta, so I imagine the gnocchi will put it over the top! Can't wait to try it like that. The hubs LOVED this and ate way too much hahaha Thanks, Johnsonville!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Life Tastes Good

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by Kim's Cooking Now!
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2013
I really liked this. It certainly is quick and easy. I used my own homemade pesto, some red, yellow & orange peppers that I had on hand, and threw in some onion that I had left in the frig to use up. Other than that, I followed the recipe. I really liked how the light cream and pesto made a nice sauce that coated the gnocchi perfectly. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim's Cooking Now!

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Little Chute, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Kennesaw, Georgia, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Johnsonville® Three Cheese Pasta Primavera

Looking for a flavorful sausage recipe without all the fat? This is it!

Baked Penne with Italian Sausage

This hearty baked pasta casserole stars Italian sausage in a rich tomato sauce.

Italian Sausage Soup

A hearty winter soup with sausage, white beans, zucchini, and spinach.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States