Creamy Peppercorn Dressing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 12, 2010
I'd actually like to give this 3 and 1/2 stars but that's only after I made changes to it so 3 stars it is... I made this in the afternoon so the flavors would set and it would be ready for dinner. It's not bad, but it's so thick that it's more of a dip than a dressing. I added more milk and more lemon juice and it was still too thick. It was a bit bland so I added a couple of dashes of worcestershire, a little more garlic, some salt, chopped fresh chives, some red wine vinegar and sugar. At that point, it was a totallly different dressing - more of a cross between a creamy peppercorn and a ranch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
With only nine reviews in nearly three years this is unfortunately another overlooked or ignored recipe. This is a quite good parmesan peppercorn dressing! I used fresh minced garlic and a little salt rather than the garlic salt which I think gave this an incredible fresh and authentic flavor, but all it really needed was to be thinned out with a little milk. (If I had buttermilk on hand I probably would have used that) I also liked that this called for fresh lemon juice when it could just as easily have called for vinegar - the lemon, too, contributes a fresh flavor with just a little tang and not the puckering acidity of vinegar. If it wasn't for the fact that Hubs doesn't much like Parmesan (silly man), I'd be making this regularly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Photo by Pam-3BoysMama
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2010
I halved the recipe, but otherwise followed it exactly. Well, okay, I might have had a heavy hand with the Parmesan. I grated a little too much and threw all of it into the dressing. This reminds me of a favorite bottled dressing from the past. I haven't been able to find it around here for several years. I loved this and will definitely be making it again and again! Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monroeville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Castle, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2010
You definitely have to let this sit in the fridge overnight before it tastes good. After making it yesterday it was bland but today the flavors have meshed together very well. I also used more sour cream than mayo for a tangier flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lux

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Powell, Wyoming, USA
Living In: Seal Rock, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2008
Love, love, loved this salad dressing recipe! As someone who is sensitive to MSG, I started making my own dressings. Now, even when I CAN eat store bought, nothing is as good as the home-made recipes I've found. This one is a keeper and I will make over and over. Thanks so much for it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PAMINMI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Palos Hills, Illinois, USA
Living In: Gladstone, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2011
I had to modify a bit based on what I had on hand, but it's really a great recipe to use as a guideline. I didn't have mayo so I used plain non-fat yogurt. I also didn't have any lemons but stil wanted the tang...so I used about 1T powdered buttermilk. Maybe those edits sound weird, but this is really tasty!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FNChef

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Prior Lake, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Lakeville, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2011
Very good as written. I wanted a bit more bite so I added a tad more pepper and lemon. Really nice flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by linda2d
Reviewed: May 15, 2012
I made this with light sour cream, vegan mayo, and skim milk. When you scale it down to a few servings the smaller amounts didn't really change so while I tried to follow the given ratios it was a little be feel on the seasonings. I added a little more parm and pepper eventually but it may not have been necessary if I had let it sit and blend. This is going in my permanent dressing collection. Simple and flavorful and unlike many homemade dressings I'm not trying to duplicate a flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by linda2d

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2012
This dressing was very good. I made mine with light mayo, fat free sour cream, fresh garlic and onion flakes. My husband liked it, I liked it, and I will make it again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 50swife2010

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2011
I served this dressing with a tossed salad for my guests. I added a 1/2 tsp of Worcestershire sauce to the recipe to give it a little kick. It was rich and creamy and very tasty. What makes this recipe easy to make is the fact that the ingredients are usually a staple in the refrigerator.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States