Creamy Peppercorn Dressing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
With only nine reviews in nearly three years this is unfortunately another overlooked or ignored recipe. This is a quite good parmesan peppercorn dressing! I used fresh minced garlic and a little salt rather than the garlic salt which I think gave this an incredible fresh and authentic flavor, but all it really needed was to be thinned out with a little milk. (If I had buttermilk on hand I probably would have used that) I also liked that this called for fresh lemon juice when it could just as easily have called for vinegar - the lemon, too, contributes a fresh flavor with just a little tang and not the puckering acidity of vinegar. If it wasn't for the fact that Hubs doesn't much like Parmesan (silly man), I'd be making this regularly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2010
You definitely have to let this sit in the fridge overnight before it tastes good. After making it yesterday it was bland but today the flavors have meshed together very well. I also used more sour cream than mayo for a tangier flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lux

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Powell, Wyoming, USA
Living In: Seal Rock, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2010
I halved the recipe, but otherwise followed it exactly. Well, okay, I might have had a heavy hand with the Parmesan. I grated a little too much and threw all of it into the dressing. This reminds me of a favorite bottled dressing from the past. I haven't been able to find it around here for several years. I loved this and will definitely be making it again and again! Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monroeville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Castle, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: May 12, 2010
I'd actually like to give this 3 and 1/2 stars but that's only after I made changes to it so 3 stars it is... I made this in the afternoon so the flavors would set and it would be ready for dinner. It's not bad, but it's so thick that it's more of a dip than a dressing. I added more milk and more lemon juice and it was still too thick. It was a bit bland so I added a couple of dashes of worcestershire, a little more garlic, some salt, chopped fresh chives, some red wine vinegar and sugar. At that point, it was a totallly different dressing - more of a cross between a creamy peppercorn and a ranch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2010
This is a temp review (so I don't forget lol). Just made ... and it's okay. Will let it sit rest of the day to let flavors blend together and try tonight on salad. For right now, tho ......... giving a 3. Edit: so sorry, but not for us - - - not sure where I went wrong, but did absolutely nothing for my husband & I. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Litegal1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2009
This is yummy! I did add a teas. of Dijon mustard for extra tang. Thank you for this one. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Warren, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2009
a regular item in our fridge now
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by christinasbakery

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Auburn, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2008
Excellent! I'm on a low-carb diet, so I substituted water for the milk. I used what I had on hand (garlic powder, then added salt to taste, white and black pepper, and freeze dried chives instead of the onion powder). Wow! Very pleased! Can't wait to try this on my chicken wraps!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2008
Love, love, loved this salad dressing recipe! As someone who is sensitive to MSG, I started making my own dressings. Now, even when I CAN eat store bought, nothing is as good as the home-made recipes I've found. This one is a keeper and I will make over and over. Thanks so much for it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PAMINMI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Palos Hills, Illinois, USA
Living In: Gladstone, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2008
We love this dressing. We use it as a sauce for baked chicken breasts with basil. We serve it with white rice. The dressing is wonderful on the chicken and rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States