Creamy Pepper Jack Cheese Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2015
Wish the cheese would melt better because this soup is so tasty and easy!!!! But the cheese separated after awhile... Hmmm... Will try again! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2014
Loved this! It didn't end up super thick so I added some extra cheese at the end & it got a little thicker. Next time I will use less broth or milk. I made this as a broccoli cheese soup- I cooked the broccoli in some chicken broth until it was just tender then added it to the soup after whisking in the milk & broth. Great flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2014
I thought this sounded good and had some pepper jack cheese on hand. Read the reviews, figuring other reviewers might not have made a roux-based soup before and did something weird to make the "texture off" like many had said it was. I have made plenty of soups this way, cheesy ones too, so I figured it would be fairly simple and turn out tasty. Everything went fine until I added the pepper jack at the end. It WOULD NOT incorporate into the soup, even though I left the heat on and stirred and stirred it. I have NO IDEA why that would be - I have made similar recipes without this happening, like a pepper jack cheese sauce to go on macaroni and cheese. Ultimately, I do not recommend this recipe. The finished product had gooey balls of cheese floating in it. Not sure if this is the "weird texture" others talked about, but that's what I thought was wrong with it. Sorry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2013
It was good and spicy. I will probably add potatoes next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2011
Husband thought that this would be fantastic with the addition of some potatoes or other veggies. But good just as written. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MollyBrook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2011
of course I modified soup like others have by adding leftover cooked vegies: potatoes, carrots, broccoli and added a fresh jalapeño instead of the hot pepper sauce. The chunkier soup was more satisfying!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2011
For those out there who had a weird texture or a cheesy mess-this is a basic white sauce technique, learning to do it properly will make this taste smooth, creamy and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2010
I wanted to like this soup but didn't. I didn't like the flavor, it was too thick and the texture was grainy. For anyone else making it, heat the milk and broth before adding to the flour mixture. Then add it slowly and stir constantly. This should help the consistency. Just be careful not to boil the milk. I won't make this soup again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2009
Taste was really good. I did add potatoes to make it more of a potato cheese soup though. thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracee Workman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Greensburg, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2009
I'm surprised that so many people have had a hard time preparing this soup. It's really a very basic soup recipe. This recipe is a great simple soup that is delicious and yet elegant enough to serve for dinner parties. Serve as written for a soup course, but for a family supper I recommend adding a cup of shredded chicken and about three cups vegetables (I loved it when I added a bag of California blend (broccoli, cauliflower, and carrots)). Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make quick-and-easy cheese soup with broccoli.

Excellent Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make homemade broccoli cheese soup.

Chef John's Creamy Mushroom Soup

Discover the simple trick to delicious homemade creamy mushroom soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States