Creamy Penne Pasta Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2002
I did not have high expectations for this dish...I was just looking for a fast and easy recipe. This was awesome!! However, I made many alterations to the dish due to time contraints. First, I heated the olive oil and browned some garlic and minced onion. I then added 1 cup chicken and half green and half red bell pepper, chopped. When the cubed chicken was cooked through, I added 1 8oz container of cream cheese with chives and 1 can Italian stewed tomatoes. This addition not only thinned the sauce, as others have stated, but also, it allowed me to eliminate the basil, parsley and other spices. Served over the penne pasta and viola!! Dinner was a hit (to my surprise). Sprinkled some dry parsley and parmesean cheese over all for presentation. Great recipe Toni (even altered) and will make again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2001
My two-year-old nephew wasn't a fan of this one, but I loved it and so did my brother and his wife. The only change I'd suggest is to add a little milk with the cream cheese; it was almost too thick to serve.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2001
This was GREAT! My boyfriend ate 3 plates and begged for a doggie bag for work! I added mushrooms, brocoli, shrimp and chicken. It was great!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2001
Excellent recipe...it was a big hit. The only thing I would change is that the sauce is really thick and pasty. I think I'll try adding some milk to thin it out a bit next time. Great flavour though! Five stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wasaga Beach, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2001
This is one of my favorite recipes. I share it with everyone because it's so easy and so good. I use fat free cream cheese and leave out the oil and it tastes just as wonderful. This recipe will be a mainstay for dinner! THANK YOU! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2002
This was a great start to a wonderful dinner. I changed a few things because it had quite a few bad reviews. I added 1 8oz package of mushrooms, 1 red pepper sliced,fresh green beans, 1 cup of milk,and 4 cloves of garlic. I also used low fat cream cheese and dried spices because I didnt have any on hand. My dinner was great! The recipe is to thick without the milk. My fiancee is picky and he really enjoyed it. Thanks for sharing the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2003
Amazing! I am now inspired to grow my own herbs for cooking. The fresh basil, oregano and parsley are neccessary for this recipe to work. I was a little scared after reading some of the reviews but it was great! The only thing I did different was used low fat cream cheese and substituted 2 Roma tomatoes. I served it with grilled chicken soaked in a red wine marinade. I am not a very good cook but this was delicious. My fiance loved it! What impresses me is being able to make a fantastic meal in under $5.00 Thanks Toni-great job
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2004
I really loved this recipe. At first I wasn't too sure about tomatoes and cream cheese. But all the different ingredients really work. I did use canned Italian tomatoes and added onions with the garlic and used the chive and onion cream cheese in the tub. But those were the only changes I made. Oh, I did add fake crab to the mixture and it was so good. I am glad that I overlooked my thinking and made this. I will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Ulm, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Kasota, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2006
This was very good, but I had troubles getting the alfredo sauce to thinken and stick to the pasta. After stirring for a long time with heat, it finally worked, but unless you are very good with alfredo sauces, you may have troubles. Otherwise, my family and I really enjoyed this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2006
this recipe is a huuuge hit and very easy to make... little prep time and quick cooking, makes it perfect for something great tasting in little time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 67) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Tomato & Tuna Penne Pasta

See a pasta dish that's based loosely on a classic diner lunch combo.

Penne Spring Pasta

A gorgeously green spring pasta with asparagus, peas, and fresh mint.

Tri-Color Penne Pasta Salad with Shrimp

See how to make a colorful shrimp salad with grape tomatoes and penne pasta.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States