Creamy Penne Pasta Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2003
I liked this (as did my 5 year old)....I added a finely diced onion with the garlic and sauteed first then added the herbs and two diced fresh tomatoes. I also used low-fat cream cheese. I didn't think the sauce was too thick (it held the herbs and stuff nicely to the penne) -- until it cooled off....just add a splash of milk to thin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2003
Amazing! I am now inspired to grow my own herbs for cooking. The fresh basil, oregano and parsley are neccessary for this recipe to work. I was a little scared after reading some of the reviews but it was great! The only thing I did different was used low fat cream cheese and substituted 2 Roma tomatoes. I served it with grilled chicken soaked in a red wine marinade. I am not a very good cook but this was delicious. My fiance loved it! What impresses me is being able to make a fantastic meal in under $5.00 Thanks Toni-great job
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2003
Hmmmm....the dish was just okay. Cream cheese with pasta didn't taste quite right to me but it was quite edible. I added portabella mushrooms to the sauce and did vermallli pasta instead penna pasta because that's all I had. I would not make this again unless I wanted to make something easy which doesn't require any time. Overall, this recipe is average, nothing exciting about it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2002
I did not have high expectations for this dish...I was just looking for a fast and easy recipe. This was awesome!! However, I made many alterations to the dish due to time contraints. First, I heated the olive oil and browned some garlic and minced onion. I then added 1 cup chicken and half green and half red bell pepper, chopped. When the cubed chicken was cooked through, I added 1 8oz container of cream cheese with chives and 1 can Italian stewed tomatoes. This addition not only thinned the sauce, as others have stated, but also, it allowed me to eliminate the basil, parsley and other spices. Served over the penne pasta and viola!! Dinner was a hit (to my surprise). Sprinkled some dry parsley and parmesean cheese over all for presentation. Great recipe Toni (even altered) and will make again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2002
Hmmm...maybe I just don't like basil as much as I thought I did - I did not enjoy this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2002
Very good and easy to make. It's important to use fresh herbs, as they really enhance the flavor. (Plus they make the kitchen smell wonderful.) I added chicken marinated in lemon juice and garlic, and the tang of the chicken was a delicious set off against the cream sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2002
This was a great start to a wonderful dinner. I changed a few things because it had quite a few bad reviews. I added 1 8oz package of mushrooms, 1 red pepper sliced,fresh green beans, 1 cup of milk,and 4 cloves of garlic. I also used low fat cream cheese and dried spices because I didnt have any on hand. My dinner was great! The recipe is to thick without the milk. My fiancee is picky and he really enjoyed it. Thanks for sharing the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2002
Needs more tomato, IMHO.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2002
Perhaps it was my fault for using fat-free cream cheese...but this recipe was horrible! Although the ingrediants sounded like a winning combination all I ended up with was pink, creamy, goo. (Not to mention the after taste that followed.) I am thinking about possibly (probably not) trying the recipe again, with regular cream cheese--but why waste the ingrediants?!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2002
This recipe was just o.k. I used low-fat cream cheese, maybe that was the culprit. I bought all fresh herbs, but it hardly seemed worth it for this recipe. May try again w/ regular cream cheese, but not for a while.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 67) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Creamy Tomato & Tuna Penne Pasta

See a pasta dish that's based loosely on a classic diner lunch combo.

Penne Spring Pasta

A gorgeously green spring pasta with asparagus, peas, and fresh mint.

Tri-Color Penne Pasta Salad with Shrimp

See how to make a colorful shrimp salad with grape tomatoes and penne pasta.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States