Creamy Penne Pasta Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2005
THis pasta sounds great on paper, but it didn't translate too well to the table. The basil and oregano overpowered the dish and the cream sauce was very thick. Maybe a few alterations to the recipe would help it. Otherwise, i wouldn't plan on this one for a dinner party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2005
It was a delicious recipe, however, it seemed over the top on spices. We halved the amount of spices and also combined it with a white sauce so it would go farther. With those changes, I would recommend it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2005
Very creamy! I did need to add some milk to thin. Quick and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2004
wonderful base changed it a bit added garlic garlic from tastefully simple and 1/2 stick of butter and a 1/4 cup of milk and zesty Italian sausage. yum yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2004
This was just ok for me. I may fix it again but it's not one of my favorite pasta recipes. I also did as someone suggested and added milk to thin out the sauce a bit. That helped but it was still really thick. It needs a bit of salt because with the fresh tomato, it absorbs it. I added it while cooking and had to add more when it was finished. I think next time I'll either add a little more tomato or used canned tomatos that are already flavored.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2004
I really loved this recipe. At first I wasn't too sure about tomatoes and cream cheese. But all the different ingredients really work. I did use canned Italian tomatoes and added onions with the garlic and used the chive and onion cream cheese in the tub. But those were the only changes I made. Oh, I did add fake crab to the mixture and it was so good. I am glad that I overlooked my thinking and made this. I will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Ulm, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Kasota, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2004
This was delicious, however a bit dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2004
this was very good, but the sauce was so thick you couldnt really toss with the pasta. will make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2004
Perhaps I shouldn't rate since I don't prefer creamy sauces, but cream cheese is not necessary for this recipe, it is plenty greasy and good with only high quality oil and other ingredients. I minced my garlic with coarse salt in my herb pot which made a paste and spread evenly throughout. Very tasty both ways, too milky fatty for me with the cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2003
This was very easy and not bad tasting. I used dried herbs so that may have contributed to the lack in taste, however, with a little work, this recipe could be a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 67) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Tomato & Tuna Penne Pasta

See a pasta dish that's based loosely on a classic diner lunch combo.

Penne Spring Pasta

A gorgeously green spring pasta with asparagus, peas, and fresh mint.

Tri-Color Penne Pasta Salad with Shrimp

See how to make a colorful shrimp salad with grape tomatoes and penne pasta.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States