Creamy Pear Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2004
Huge hit! I used overripe Bartlett pears and it came out delicious and with a great texture. A light taste and extremely easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2003
Delectable! The topping is great. Make extra! The almond extract makes the flavour so smooth! Not a bad choice healthwise, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2003
Was an excellent way to use up the ripe pears I had on hand. I did make extra of the crumb topping for the pie...and had to cook it a bit longer as the pears that weren't as ripe took longer to soften.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spencer, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2003
Delicious light pie. I might advise, though, to precook a little bit pastry, for I've had big troubles taking the pie out of the pan. I omitted lemon extract, but may add lemon zest next time. The filling is absolutely excellent "plain" as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IVANDIEPART

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brussels, Brussels, Belgium

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2003
Easy excellent recipe, got rave reviews from my family. A great way to use pears on hand. I highly recommend this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2004
Different but really good. I was short on sour cream, so I used cottage cheese blended smooth instead. This would be good with other fruit. Next time I will try pineapple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2004
While living in Japan I found a great love for the Nashi/pearapple grown there. Luckily, they are imported to Australia, where I am living now. I bought a whole box and needed a recipe to cook some of them. I found this recipe and it is the ONE!!! I only made one change in that I added some apple pie spice, it was wonderful. I made it for my sewing group and it was a hit. I am now making copies for everyone! Thanks for sharing this recipe!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pineville, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Derby, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2004
This was soooooo good! I will defenitely make this pie again. For the crust I used the "Best Ever Pie Crust" recipe, a very simple recipe but very tasty too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MILVETTE

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2007
We thought this was very good too. I made it like pudding in small individual ramakins and didn't mess with the crust at all. Added crushed pecans to the mix as my pears were real ripe and kind of mushy and I wanted some texture. I didn't have lemon extract so used a little lemon peel. I did put a little cinnamin in with the topping, but no other changes. I liked the slight almond flavor. I would love to try this with other fruit as one reviewer suggested. Very easy and a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hurst, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2007
This recipe was as delicious as it was easy. I substituted some of the sour cream with low-fat yogurt and added currants. Everyone who tasted it raved about it. Will be using this recipe a lot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Sour Cream Pear Pie

This sour cream-based fruit pie is a crowd-pleaser that’s anything but ordinary.

Creamy Blueberry Pie

See how to make a simple custardy blueberry pie that's not too sweet.

Strawberry Rhubarb Custard Pie

See how to make a super-simple strawberry-rhubarb pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States