Creamy Pear Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2009
I made this pie for Thanksgiving and it was a huge hit. The only complaint I got was that I only made one pie. LOL! It was delicious. I did have to bake it a little longer than the recommended time. Next time I will put foil on the edges of the crust so they don't get too dark due to the length of time required to cook the pears.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2008
Wonderful! My husband and I don't really like pie but this was great. I had my pear slices soaking in lemon juice so they wouldn't brown so I didn't use the lemon extract. Only change and this was great. I'll definately make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2007
This recipe was as delicious as it was easy. I substituted some of the sour cream with low-fat yogurt and added currants. Everyone who tasted it raved about it. Will be using this recipe a lot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2007
We thought this was very good too. I made it like pudding in small individual ramakins and didn't mess with the crust at all. Added crushed pecans to the mix as my pears were real ripe and kind of mushy and I wanted some texture. I didn't have lemon extract so used a little lemon peel. I did put a little cinnamin in with the topping, but no other changes. I liked the slight almond flavor. I would love to try this with other fruit as one reviewer suggested. Very easy and a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hurst, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2006
I really wasn't that impressed with this... it was better chilled but not much... I won't make it again. Just an ok recipe in my opinion
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2005
I agree with the previous rater who was in the minority. If zero stars were available that's what I've give this. Not only my opinion but that of the 3 adults in our house. A waste of my time and ingredients. Flavorless filling, even though I used ripe Bartletts. I don't think even adding some spices would help.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2004
Clearly I am in the minority, but if it was possible to give zero stars, that's what this recipe would get.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2004
This was soooooo good! I will defenitely make this pie again. For the crust I used the "Best Ever Pie Crust" recipe, a very simple recipe but very tasty too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MILVETTE

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2004
I never knew what to do with all the pears on our pear tree, but now I do! I also doubled the crumble for the topping and it was easier to use softened margarine instead of melted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2004
While living in Japan I found a great love for the Nashi/pearapple grown there. Luckily, they are imported to Australia, where I am living now. I bought a whole box and needed a recipe to cook some of them. I found this recipe and it is the ONE!!! I only made one change in that I added some apple pie spice, it was wonderful. I made it for my sewing group and it was a hit. I am now making copies for everyone! Thanks for sharing this recipe!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pineville, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Derby, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Sour Cream Pear Pie

This sour cream-based fruit pie is a crowd-pleaser that’s anything but ordinary.

Creamy Blueberry Pie

See how to make a simple custardy blueberry pie that's not too sweet.

Strawberry Rhubarb Custard Pie

See how to make a super-simple strawberry-rhubarb pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States