Creamy Peanut Butter Fudge Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2004
This fudge has an excellent flavor, BUT the instructions are not adequate to get the recipe to turn out regularly--after 7 batches and only 2 that were edible, I finally figured it out. First of all, you must cook the fudge to softball stage--234 to 240 degrees. Depending on your stove and cookware the time could vary significantly. Secondly, you must cool it adequately before adding the peanut butter and vanilla. It needs to cool to somewhere between 110 and 125 degrees in order to prevent the mixture from seizing. Cooling it to this temperature could take quite a bit of time and it should not be stirred during this time. Hopefully this helps everyone out. The recipe is quite good and even better once you figure out the details.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
705 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Leavenworth, Kansas, USA
Living In: Overland Park, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2010
I mean this respectfully, but the review that has been flagged as "most helpful" on this recipe is so misleading. I have been making this recipe for at least six years (easily since 2004) following the instructions to the letter. I was a novice fudge maker and my first batch was perfect. Six years later, and not once has the fudge not set up or turned out. The beauty of this is that you **don't** need to worry about "soft ball" stages or thermometers, which can be so intimidating. Do what the recipe says. Stir constantly until it boils and start timing your 7 minutes once the fudge hits a full rolling boil, not when it just starts to bubble. I've started the timing up to a minute late (oops) and it was still fine. I find this very forgiving. Use the timer on your stove and boil for 7 minutes. Remove from heat and immediately add marshmallow creme, incorporate and add vanilla & peanut butter as directed. No need to let cool to a magic number. I've made countless batches and it has never seized up. Pour into your 9x13 pan, let cool (don't refrigerate, I set mine in the cool garage), cut. Easy easy easy! One thing to note, using a commercial peanut butter vs an all natural gives a creamier texture. I've used name brands and cheapies and it comes out about the same. I'm a choosy mom so you can guess the brand I prefer! ;) My best advice is to keep this as the wonderful person who shared it intended. Easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
559 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2007
An important thing to remember when making candy is it needs stirred up until the moment it starts boiling. You can't touch it during the 7 minute boiling phase. Otherwise you will make large sugar crystals and it will not "melt in your mouth". If you follow those directions it will be a 5 star candy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
450 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ban_the_circus

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2003
OH MY GOODNESS! ABSOLUTELY FANTASTIC! This is the best peanut butter fudge that I have ever eaten. My husband & I go to a specialty shop once a year and buy about 2 lbs. of gourmet peanut butter fudge....well, no more!! This is much better. I am so impressed with this recipe I just don't have enough room to say everything I want about it. If you haven't tried this recipe, you must try it!! The only thing I must caution you about is the cooking time on this recipe is off. It says "Total cook time: 7 minutes". That is wrong, it takes 7 or 8 minutes just to get to the boil stage and then you must boil it for 7 more minutes, so your total cook time will be about 15 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
262 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2002
Very good. Turned out great. I saw the other post where someone said it was dry and crumbly, it was cooked too long. And the one that turned out grainy, it wasn't cooked long enough. Fudge recipes are touchy, you have to follow the instructions exactly. This fudge is good in that it isn't too sweet, has a good balance, and couldn't be any easier to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
146 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jandtsmom

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2002
This peanut butter fudge recipe is so luscious it is beyond any description. Seven minutes at a rolling boil (a boil that cannot be stirred down) made the perfect creamy texture. If you have a candy thermometer, boil to 234 degrees.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
121 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2005
I tried this at my very first attempt to make fudge. PERFECT! I took the time to read the reviews and it helped me understand what I was doing. Everybody raved about this fudge and asked me how to do it. Note: Wait for a full boil before you start the 7 minutes timer. I did not stir at all while the sugar was boiling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
106 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by QuebecGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Quebec, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Casa Grande, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2001
Wow. I made this for Christmas goodie baskets and it received RAVE reviews. The fudge was so good, I just couldn't stop making it. Before the day was over, I had gone through 15lbs. of white sugar. Friends were giving it to friends, and I am still getting e-mails for the recipe. This recipe also makes great chocolate fudge. Just replace the peanut butter with 4 cups milk chocolate chips and 2 cups semi-sweet chocolate chips. Very creamy. Very delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
91 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2007
Made this recipe for a football tailgate this past weekend and got rave reviews! Two very important things to note: (1) depending on the pan size/temperature settings on your stove, boiling for 7 minutes may not get the fudge to the right temp, and if its not hot enough, it will be runny and goopy. The easiest way to guarantee that your fudge sets up correctly is to use a candy thermometer and heat it to soft ball stage (235-240 degrees). I recommend an instant-read digital thermometer - so easy to use. (2)For those who have a hard time finding marshmallow creme (or want to save some $$) 4 large marshmallows equals 1 oz of marshmallow creme, so about 30 large marshmallows should do the trick here. Best PB fudge I've had in a while, thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
79 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Walnut Creek, California, USA
Living In: Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2005
Terrific fudge! I followed somone elses advice on using a candy thermometer and cooking to the soft ball stage. I had set my timer after it got to a roiling boil. At 7 minutes I was not near the soft ball stage. They also said to cool to 125 degrees before adding the peanut butter and vanilla which I did. I would not want to make this around small children because it needs your full attention and stirring while boiling. This would make a great gift and with a thermometer, it is not hard to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 678) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Peanut Butter Fudge

This smooth fudge combines the flavors of peanut and marshmallow. Delicious!

Easiest Peanut Butter Fudge

This fudge is sinfully rich but a snap to make.

World's Best Peanut Fudge

See how to make a rich-and-creamy peanut butter fudge.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States