Creamy Pea Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2000
My husband kept asking me to make split pea soup and I never have because I have never made a soup from scratch. This soup was easy and terrific. My husband loved it and said that this recipe is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2001
My husband said that this was the best pea soup he's ever had and I think I have to agree. What I did was after I heated the first set of ingredients to boiling, tossed it in my slow cooker and let it simmer to perfection when it came time to eat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2001
This recipe was just O.K.. The flavor was traditional pea soup. The problem was after pureeing, it was so visually unappealing. It might be pretty good with just stirring in the cream cheese without blending the soup. I think there are better pea soup recipes out there. I'll keep searching.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2003
This soup is wonderful. I blend about 3/4 of the pot and leave the rest. I'm the only one in my family that eats this soup so I usually give some to friends. They're always asking when I'm going to cook another ham so I can make more soup for them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debby Dradi Malloy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mundelein, Illinois, USA
Living In: New Port Richey, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2003
It tasted ok, if you like cream cheese. It's almost too creamy though. It's not a pleasant looking dish. You should use low cal cream if you intend to cook it, since there is so many calories in a serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2003
This soup was yummy but it is better if you do it all the day before, it's very time consuming, having to cook and then blend in the cream cheese. It was also very heavy. I agree with the light cream cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edison, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Piscataway, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2003
I've used this recipe several times and am never dissapointed. I have been asked to share the recipe many times. Thanks for posting it! FYI to all - the recipe calls for 2.5 cups of peas - that's a 16oz. bag.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by roswell_chef

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Marietta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2004
Cream cheese with pea soup?? Absolutely delicious - no milk needed! Family and friends gave huge compliments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2004
Pretty darn good! I substituted some water with chicken broth and only used half the cream cheese. Also didn't put it in the blender, I like it a little chunky. Very good for someone who always ruins pea soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2005
I am not a pea soup fan but this is one of the best soups I've ever made (and I have made lots of fabulous soups). It is a perfect harmony of flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Split Pea Soup

See how to make hearty split pea soup from scratch.

Creamy Asparagus and Cauliflower Soup

This simple veggie soup tastes rich and creamy, but it's completely dairy-free.

Creamy Italian White Bean Soup

See how to make a healthy Italian-style white bean soup with fresh spinach.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States