Creamy Pea Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2005
hi- we tried this recipe, it was pretty good. I used a smaller bit of cream cheese - roughly one third of the eight ounces, cause I'm skimpy when it comes to things like cream cheese. Actually i'd rather use the cheese on crackers with salt. So, to compensate, if you want creamy, add two TBS of cornstarch mixed in 1/4 cup of water. Add hot soup to the bowl of cornstarch water and stir well. Then add to the hot soup. This makes the texture of the soup much smoother and refined. It doesn't end up looking like cement sludge, if you catch my drift. It actually has a sheen like restaurant soup. And old family tradition- we add a tbs of ketchup to serve, but not mix in. All in all, a decent soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2005
I am not a pea soup fan but this is one of the best soups I've ever made (and I have made lots of fabulous soups). It is a perfect harmony of flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2004
Pretty darn good! I substituted some water with chicken broth and only used half the cream cheese. Also didn't put it in the blender, I like it a little chunky. Very good for someone who always ruins pea soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2004
Cream cheese with pea soup?? Absolutely delicious - no milk needed! Family and friends gave huge compliments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2003
I've used this recipe several times and am never dissapointed. I have been asked to share the recipe many times. Thanks for posting it! FYI to all - the recipe calls for 2.5 cups of peas - that's a 16oz. bag.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by roswell_chef

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Marietta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2003
This soup was yummy but it is better if you do it all the day before, it's very time consuming, having to cook and then blend in the cream cheese. It was also very heavy. I agree with the light cream cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edison, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Piscataway, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2003
It tasted ok, if you like cream cheese. It's almost too creamy though. It's not a pleasant looking dish. You should use low cal cream if you intend to cook it, since there is so many calories in a serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2003
This soup is wonderful. I blend about 3/4 of the pot and leave the rest. I'm the only one in my family that eats this soup so I usually give some to friends. They're always asking when I'm going to cook another ham so I can make more soup for them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mundelein, Illinois, USA
Living In: New Port Richey, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2001
This recipe was just O.K.. The flavor was traditional pea soup. The problem was after pureeing, it was so visually unappealing. It might be pretty good with just stirring in the cream cheese without blending the soup. I think there are better pea soup recipes out there. I'll keep searching.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2001
My husband said that this was the best pea soup he's ever had and I think I have to agree. What I did was after I heated the first set of ingredients to boiling, tossed it in my slow cooker and let it simmer to perfection when it came time to eat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Split Pea Soup

See how to make hearty split pea soup from scratch.

Split Pea Soup with Rosemary

See how to make a simple, savory, and budget-friendly split pea soup.

Creamy Italian White Bean Soup

See how to make a healthy Italian-style white bean soup with fresh spinach.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States