Creamy Pea Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by LagunaLala
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2014
This is "thinner" than other split pea soups I have made before, but it is smoother and creamier where others are much thicker. I'm thinkng it will be the perfect consistency on the second day. We shall see. I didn't have any carrots or celery so I substituted frozen carrots and peas from a bag and celery salt. I also tossed in one chicken bouillon cube 'cause I like to live life on the edge. Turned out yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LagunaLala

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA
Living In: Laguna Hills, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2012
This soup was exceptional, tasty and delicious. The only changes I made were to omit salt, put it all in a slow cooker from the start, use ham stock (leftover Easter ham bone, thanks Mother for boiling the bone for me), and gently saute the garlic, onion, and celery before putting it in the pot. Also, no pureeing required... it cooked overnight on low and was perfect, we just put the cubed cream cheese in an hour before we turned off the slow cooker. As a spring meal with miniature sandwiches, a small bowl is plenty. Great way to use up extra ham as well. )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2011
This was the best pea soup EVER!! I blended only half the soup and it was fantastic. I will make this again and again. Even my husband who doesn't really like pea soup told me not to bother freezing leftovers as there wouldn't be any left, and there wasn't!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2011
0
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jim Moore

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2010
Substituted pork roast for ham bone and neufchatel cheese for cream cheese. Was runnier than we expected.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2010
Wonderful on a cold blustery night. Its comfort food at its best. I know its good when my daughter wants it in her lunch for shcool the next day. However d onot make the mistake of using low fat/fat free cream cheese, it changes the taste for the worse. Also make sure and use quality ham hocks, I have used pre-packaged and i tturned out bland. I do try and always make it a day ahead to let the flavors marry, it is even better a day or two after the cook day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Los Gatos, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2009
I liked this soup, after reading the other reviews I decided to only puree about half of the soup and then add it back in to the pot. It had a very nice flavor and I liked the addition of the cream cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2008
This is the best split pea soup ever! Very easy. I used 7 cups water and 1 can of chicken broth, cut the cream cheese into the soup and let it melt there. It is sooo creamy and smooth. Nice looking too. I would add more carrots next time too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2006
You know, I've been visiting allrecipes.com since I was a wee lad of 17 years old. Currently, I'm a wee lad of 22 years old, heh. However, never ONCE have I felt the urge to rate/review a recipe (even become a member) until I tasted this. I'm from the good 'ol South, so I've made PLENTY of split pea soup. It replaced Ramen noodles during my college years. I've recreated almost every split pea recipe on this site; I even created a few variations of my own. THIS recipe, though, beats the split peas outta EVERY recipe I've made. I followed the recipe verbatim, except for a few small changes. I used one stalk of celery instead of leaves and real garlic instead of granulated. I also whisked in the cream cheese instead of blending it (no ugly color, just magically delicious green-ness). All the reviewers who have stated this recipe isn't for them, well, they just didn't make it correctly. MAKE IT. EAT IT. You won't regret it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2005
Very Good! I liked this recipe because of the cream cheese--I was looking for something creamy. I omitted the ham, just because we didn't have any. I used 5 c. chicken stock & 3 c. water to add more flavor (instead of all water). And I sauteed the garlic and onion (white onion) in olive oil while I chopped up the carrot. I like the flavor of sauteed onions and it also is easier to digest. In the end it was delicious and very cheap. ;-) I will make this again, especially during the winter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA
Living In: Athens, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Split Pea Soup

See how to make hearty split pea soup from scratch.

Creamy Italian White Bean Soup

See how to make a healthy Italian-style white bean soup with fresh spinach.

Split Pea Soup with Rosemary

See how to make a simple, savory, and budget-friendly split pea soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States