Creamy Pasta Primavera Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2005
As it is written, this is a bland mess. However, the thought behind it is good so I took it a few steps further. I added 2 cloves of minced garlic, 6 stalks of asparagus cut in 1 inch lengths, a small yellow squash sliced, some par boiled baby carrots and a cup of broccoli florets. Saute all the garlic and veggies together until they are heated through then continue as the recipe is written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2002
This recipe was bland. The sauce was heavy and, as originally submitted, way too much for the amount of veggies and pasta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2008
I read all of the reviews and made the changes accordingly. I still have to tweak the consistency, thinning it out as it still is rather a "glob". The taste and ease of making it was there though. What I did was use a carton of mushrooms, a bunch of green onions, a whole green and red pepper, a few stalks of celery with the inner stalks and tops, a frozen bag of peas and a bag of broccoli (thawed). Next time I would use fresh, not frozen broccoli, that's what helped turn it to mush. Some crunch would be nice. Omitted the ham. Added some pepper. Using 8 oz. of spaghetti, this amount of veggies was plenty, it's just the consistency that needs to be worked on. I hate to say adding heavy cream might do it but then it's not something you would eat every day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rae
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2011
Ok this is really good. With some changes. The amount of pasta is way to little, I used about a pound of pasta. The cream cheese needs to be softened before you put it in the pan. It will incorporate much easier. I added extra milk since it was really thick as is. I also added minced garlic, zucchini, fresh mushrooms instead of canned, carrot sticks,onions, and tomatoes. I didn't have any red bell pepper so I just used green. And since I added extra milk I used extra parm. I topped it with diced tomatoes and green onions. Very tasty recipe. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sierra Vista, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2007
The sauce was far too pasty. It would be better with half the cream cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Liz Hoffman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Prince Albert, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2006
I gave this a 4 because it truly does need a lot of revisions--I used a ton more vegetables--a 16 oz package of frozen broccoli, cauliflower and carrots, a cup of frozen peas, a cup of frozen green beans, half of a fresh red pepper, a can of mushrooms--and a pound of angel hair pasta. So I cooked the vegetables in some canola oil and made the sauce in a seperate pan and boiled the pasta in a seperate pan. I also added garlic and onion to the vegetable mixture and the sauce. Also, I added basil and oregano to the sauce too. So the cream cheese idea is a good base, but you definitely need to jazz the recipe up a bit. Also, I don't see the need for all the butter--I used about 1 tbsp of canola oil to saute my veggies and they were delicious! And I cannot even IMAGINE this sauce on 4 oz. of pasta because we had enough for 1 lb of pasta--but if you like a lot of sauce, you may want to use about 3/4 of a pound of pasta. Overall--good base of a recipe, just need to add a lot more stuff--but in the end, it's great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo Grove, Illinois, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2010
It was really good!! The sauce came out great. I used fresh mushrooms and skipped the ham, so I had to season it more. I added minced garlic and cilantro, and I was glad I did--added a little kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2009
Tasty and very easy. I had a ham steak and several peppers to use up and found this recipe that used both. I didn't have mushrooms but did have an oriental eggplant which worked nicely. This is kind of a kitchen sink recipe - I think it would work with most veggies you might have on hand. I had to add extra milk since it really thickened up fast. I would make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynardo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Johnstown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Cumberland, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2009
this will be one of those reviews where you'll wonder why i bothered since i really didn't make this recipe, but thought i'd share anyway. i basically had the same ingredients on hand as the reviewer caliloo, so i followed her advice. i sauteed a little shallot, garlic and onion along with par-microwaved carrots, asparagus, broccoli and squash. i only had about half a block of cream cheese, so i cut down on the milk. and i used some leftover rotisserie chicken. i salt and peppered it, threw in some red pepper flakes and dried basil (might leave that one out next time), and used extra parm. it turned out pretty well; i think a little white wine would be good in there and as well as shrimp, if you have it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2008
My family did not care for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Laurel, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Salmon and Leek Pasta

See how to make a simple springtime pasta with salmon.

Creamy Tomato & Tuna Penne Pasta

See a pasta dish that's based loosely on a classic diner lunch combo.

How to Make Pasta Primavera

See how to make a delicious spring pasta loaded with fresh vegetables.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States