Creamy Pasta Primavera Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2008
A good way to use up leftover ham. I too used more (whole wheat) pasta then was called for and I used fresh mushrooms. Although it was pretty good, there was no real "wow" factor that would compel me to make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susanna

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2008
Good but not great. Made a few changes - used onion and chive cream cheese, added broccoli.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Salisbury, Maryland, USA
Living In: Glassboro, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2008
My family did not care for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Laurel, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2008
I read all of the reviews and made the changes accordingly. I still have to tweak the consistency, thinning it out as it still is rather a "glob". The taste and ease of making it was there though. What I did was use a carton of mushrooms, a bunch of green onions, a whole green and red pepper, a few stalks of celery with the inner stalks and tops, a frozen bag of peas and a bag of broccoli (thawed). Next time I would use fresh, not frozen broccoli, that's what helped turn it to mush. Some crunch would be nice. Omitted the ham. Added some pepper. Using 8 oz. of spaghetti, this amount of veggies was plenty, it's just the consistency that needs to be worked on. I hate to say adding heavy cream might do it but then it's not something you would eat every day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2007
The sauce was far too pasty. It would be better with half the cream cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Liz Hoffman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Prince Albert, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2006
I agree. This recipe needs a lot more vegetables and a little tweaking. I used the veggies I had on hand (aspagagus, broccoli, bell peppers, cauliflower, onions, carrots. Sugar peas would be fantastic!) and added fresh minced garlic and a few drops of tobasco (not enough for spice just gives it a fuller flavor) to the sauce and poured it over pasta and grilled chicken. It was a lot more filling than anticipated and my young kids ate all their veggies! They wanted to eat it again the next day and again a few days later. BONUS! This seems like a very versatile recipe and one my family will enjoy for years to come.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: North Ogden, Utah, USA
Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2006
I gave this a 4 because it truly does need a lot of revisions--I used a ton more vegetables--a 16 oz package of frozen broccoli, cauliflower and carrots, a cup of frozen peas, a cup of frozen green beans, half of a fresh red pepper, a can of mushrooms--and a pound of angel hair pasta. So I cooked the vegetables in some canola oil and made the sauce in a seperate pan and boiled the pasta in a seperate pan. I also added garlic and onion to the vegetable mixture and the sauce. Also, I added basil and oregano to the sauce too. So the cream cheese idea is a good base, but you definitely need to jazz the recipe up a bit. Also, I don't see the need for all the butter--I used about 1 tbsp of canola oil to saute my veggies and they were delicious! And I cannot even IMAGINE this sauce on 4 oz. of pasta because we had enough for 1 lb of pasta--but if you like a lot of sauce, you may want to use about 3/4 of a pound of pasta. Overall--good base of a recipe, just need to add a lot more stuff--but in the end, it's great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo Grove, Illinois, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2006
I thought this was great!! I left out the mushrooms because I didn't have any and I added about 1-2 tsp fresh minced garlic. It's a bit rich with the cream cheese, but still VERY good!!! The only thing I would suggest, besides adding some garlic to give it some more flavor, is to at least double (if not triple) the amount of pasta you use. I used spiral noodles instead of spaghetti. I doubled the amount it called for and I still could have used more noodles. It really makes a lot of sauce! I also kind of wanted something crunchy in this. Maybe add some chopped celery or something along that line at the end. I made mine more like a warm pasta salad since I used the spiral noodles. Maybe that's why I wanted something crunchy in it. lol Good recipe! Give it a try!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2005
This was absolutely delicious! I was skeptical about the cream cheese, but the end result was fabulous! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lynnwood, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2005
As it is written, this is a bland mess. However, the thought behind it is good so I took it a few steps further. I added 2 cloves of minced garlic, 6 stalks of asparagus cut in 1 inch lengths, a small yellow squash sliced, some par boiled baby carrots and a cup of broccoli florets. Saute all the garlic and veggies together until they are heated through then continue as the recipe is written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Salmon and Leek Pasta

See how to make a simple springtime pasta with salmon.

Creamy Tomato & Tuna Penne Pasta

See a pasta dish that's based loosely on a classic diner lunch combo.

How to Make Pasta Primavera

See how to make a delicious spring pasta loaded with fresh vegetables.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States