Creamy Pasta Primavera Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2008
A good way to use up leftover ham. I too used more (whole wheat) pasta then was called for and I used fresh mushrooms. Although it was pretty good, there was no real "wow" factor that would compel me to make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susanna

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2008
Good but not great. Made a few changes - used onion and chive cream cheese, added broccoli.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Salisbury, Maryland, USA
Living In: Glassboro, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2008
My family did not care for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Laurel, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2008
I read all of the reviews and made the changes accordingly. I still have to tweak the consistency, thinning it out as it still is rather a "glob". The taste and ease of making it was there though. What I did was use a carton of mushrooms, a bunch of green onions, a whole green and red pepper, a few stalks of celery with the inner stalks and tops, a frozen bag of peas and a bag of broccoli (thawed). Next time I would use fresh, not frozen broccoli, that's what helped turn it to mush. Some crunch would be nice. Omitted the ham. Added some pepper. Using 8 oz. of spaghetti, this amount of veggies was plenty, it's just the consistency that needs to be worked on. I hate to say adding heavy cream might do it but then it's not something you would eat every day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2007
The sauce was far too pasty. It would be better with half the cream cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Prince Albert, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2006
I agree. This recipe needs a lot more vegetables and a little tweaking. I used the veggies I had on hand (aspagagus, broccoli, bell peppers, cauliflower, onions, carrots. Sugar peas would be fantastic!) and added fresh minced garlic and a few drops of tobasco (not enough for spice just gives it a fuller flavor) to the sauce and poured it over pasta and grilled chicken. It was a lot more filling than anticipated and my young kids ate all their veggies! They wanted to eat it again the next day and again a few days later. BONUS! This seems like a very versatile recipe and one my family will enjoy for years to come.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: North Ogden, Utah, USA
Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2006
I gave this a 4 because it truly does need a lot of revisions--I used a ton more vegetables--a 16 oz package of frozen broccoli, cauliflower and carrots, a cup of frozen peas, a cup of frozen green beans, half of a fresh red pepper, a can of mushrooms--and a pound of angel hair pasta. So I cooked the vegetables in some canola oil and made the sauce in a seperate pan and boiled the pasta in a seperate pan. I also added garlic and onion to the vegetable mixture and the sauce. Also, I added basil and oregano to the sauce too. So the cream cheese idea is a good base, but you definitely need to jazz the recipe up a bit. Also, I don't see the need for all the butter--I used about 1 tbsp of canola oil to saute my veggies and they were delicious! And I cannot even IMAGINE this sauce on 4 oz. of pasta because we had enough for 1 lb of pasta--but if you like a lot of sauce, you may want to use about 3/4 of a pound of pasta. Overall--good base of a recipe, just need to add a lot more stuff--but in the end, it's great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo Grove, Illinois, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2006
I thought this was great!! I left out the mushrooms because I didn't have any and I added about 1-2 tsp fresh minced garlic. It's a bit rich with the cream cheese, but still VERY good!!! The only thing I would suggest, besides adding some garlic to give it some more flavor, is to at least double (if not triple) the amount of pasta you use. I used spiral noodles instead of spaghetti. I doubled the amount it called for and I still could have used more noodles. It really makes a lot of sauce! I also kind of wanted something crunchy in this. Maybe add some chopped celery or something along that line at the end. I made mine more like a warm pasta salad since I used the spiral noodles. Maybe that's why I wanted something crunchy in it. lol Good recipe! Give it a try!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2005
This was absolutely delicious! I was skeptical about the cream cheese, but the end result was fabulous! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lynnwood, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2005
As it is written, this is a bland mess. However, the thought behind it is good so I took it a few steps further. I added 2 cloves of minced garlic, 6 stalks of asparagus cut in 1 inch lengths, a small yellow squash sliced, some par boiled baby carrots and a cup of broccoli florets. Saute all the garlic and veggies together until they are heated through then continue as the recipe is written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Creamy Salmon and Leek Pasta

See how to make a simple springtime pasta with salmon.

Creamy Tomato & Tuna Penne Pasta

See a pasta dish that's based loosely on a classic diner lunch combo.

How to Make Pasta Primavera

See how to make a delicious spring pasta loaded with fresh vegetables.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States