Creamy Parsnip With Ginger Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2004
This is simply fantastic -- it freezes well, and warms up nicely for lunch at work. I will make this again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Greenfield Park, Quebec, Canada
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2005
I received rave reviews on this soup! Can't wait to make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2005
This was an excellent recipe for someone who has never before tried parsnips. I used 1% milk instead of half and half and the soup was still lovely and thick - the perfect food for a snowy winter night. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2006
A wonderful soup - it has officially become one of our Sienfield 'soup nazi' soups! Because I used more parsnips I upped other ingredients, but I found that I used much more chicken broth than the recipe called for - it was very thick. I used fresh ginger instead of ground and more garlic and cayenne pepper (we love garlicy, spicy food). For garnish, being that we didn't have hazelnuts and cranberries in the house, I sauteed sultanas and walnuts in a touch of butter.. it was fabulous! Thanks for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lewisporte, Newfoundland, Canada
Living In: Stephenville, Newfoundland, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2006
I omitted the allspice, used a little heavy cream as well as half and half, and I garnished with snipped chives. Absolutely delicious! Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2006
Already had the parsnips/onions cooking when i realised I couldn't find my Curried Parsnip soup recipe. None here either, but this one is a fine replacement, except for usual substitue ingredients(no cayenne, so used paprika; no ground giiner, so used pieces and so on).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2007
It's difficult to find recipes for parsnip soup and this one was lovely! I didn't have cardamom or all spice & I used a bit of fresh ginger root in place of ground ginger but it still tasted it great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melody

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2007
I used whole milk instead of the half and half and a few canned pears, it turns out just like my favourite soup at a restaurant that I frequent. There is nothing better than a bowl of this soup on a cold winter day, thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LizB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Parry Sound, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Barrie, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2007
Excellent taste, very easy to make. Used slightly diferent spices as I didn't have Allspice or Cardamom - will definitely make this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2007
If I could give this soup a million stars, I would! So delicious, my first experience with parsnips. Who knew they were so good? The only change I made was using all allspice instead of allspice and cardamom, and using dark brown sugar instead of regular. thanks for great soup recipe for my work lunches!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Roasted Apple Parsnip Soup

See how to make a comforting, warming winter meal.

Creamy Asparagus and Cauliflower Soup

This simple veggie soup tastes rich and creamy, but it's completely dairy-free.

Chef John's Creamy Mushroom Soup

Discover the simple trick to delicious homemade creamy mushroom soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States