Creamy Parsnip With Ginger Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2008
This was fun to make and delicious! I used fresh ginger instead of powdered ginger and cinnamon becuase I didn't have any all-spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2008
Awesome! Due to food issues and what was on hand, of course i altered a bit. I subbed 2 leeks for the onion, and added with the garlic (which i increased some). I grated in some frozen fresh ginger, and also used the powdered ginger. I omitted the cardomam and used potato milk instead of the cream. Oh, I also put in the whole box of broth, which is closer to 4 cups than 3. My family loved the soup! Well, it was too sweet for my husband, but my teen daughter had 2 bowls of this and no chicken, and my 11 yo boy ate his whole bowl. (Ok, he actually dipped some of his french fries in it lol)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2007
If I could give this soup a million stars, I would! So delicious, my first experience with parsnips. Who knew they were so good? The only change I made was using all allspice instead of allspice and cardamom, and using dark brown sugar instead of regular. thanks for great soup recipe for my work lunches!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2007
Excellent taste, very easy to make. Used slightly diferent spices as I didn't have Allspice or Cardamom - will definitely make this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2007
I used whole milk instead of the half and half and a few canned pears, it turns out just like my favourite soup at a restaurant that I frequent. There is nothing better than a bowl of this soup on a cold winter day, thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LizB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Parry Sound, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Barrie, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2007
It's difficult to find recipes for parsnip soup and this one was lovely! I didn't have cardamom or all spice & I used a bit of fresh ginger root in place of ground ginger but it still tasted it great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melody

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2006
Already had the parsnips/onions cooking when i realised I couldn't find my Curried Parsnip soup recipe. None here either, but this one is a fine replacement, except for usual substitue ingredients(no cayenne, so used paprika; no ground giiner, so used pieces and so on).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2006
I omitted the allspice, used a little heavy cream as well as half and half, and I garnished with snipped chives. Absolutely delicious! Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2006
A wonderful soup - it has officially become one of our Sienfield 'soup nazi' soups! Because I used more parsnips I upped other ingredients, but I found that I used much more chicken broth than the recipe called for - it was very thick. I used fresh ginger instead of ground and more garlic and cayenne pepper (we love garlicy, spicy food). For garnish, being that we didn't have hazelnuts and cranberries in the house, I sauteed sultanas and walnuts in a touch of butter.. it was fabulous! Thanks for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lewisporte, Newfoundland, Canada
Living In: Stephenville, Newfoundland, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2005
This was an excellent recipe for someone who has never before tried parsnips. I used 1% milk instead of half and half and the soup was still lovely and thick - the perfect food for a snowy winter night. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Roasted Apple Parsnip Soup

See how to make a comforting, warming winter meal.

Creamy Asparagus and Cauliflower Soup

This simple veggie soup tastes rich and creamy, but it's completely dairy-free.

Chef John's Creamy Mushroom Soup

Discover the simple trick to delicious homemade creamy mushroom soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States