Creamy Parsnip With Ginger Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2009
This is a very nice soup, but I found that apart from parsnip (obviously), the other flavours were warring with each other a bit. It just came over as spicy parsnip, which was a bit disappointing after all the work! I will make it again though, and I may try fresh minced ginger and no allspice, as this I think, might have been a little overpowering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2009
This recipe doesn't get a 5 because I had to thin it with water because it was so thick, and the cayenne kicked the heat up too much for my kids to like it. Next time I'll make it without the cayenne; I think the ginger is heat enough. Overall it's quite a good recipe, though, and the garnish is a great addition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ruth

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Milton, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2009
I thought this recipe was fantastic and it's the only recipe i've reviewed!! I don't cook with cream or milk, so instead i whisked a tablespoon of flour (i used spelt flour, as that's all i had) in 1.5 cups of water and also, I used 1 tsp of fresh grated ginger as well as the 1 tsp of ground ginger the recipe called for. It had a fantastic ginger kick. i will definitely add this to the regular soups i make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2008
By happy accident, I splashed some Oyster Sauce into my bowl of parsnip soup - it made a good soup even better! Add to taste, as I have no way of knowing how much I splashed into my bowl and how that would translate to the whole recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by DetectiveL
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2008
Had this with Waldorf Salad w/walnut oil vinaigrette (also from this site). It made a great meatless dinner, light and perfect on a blustery fall day. Don't skimp on the sauted nuts and cranberries--it's a yummy addition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DetectiveL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2008
This recipe is delicious, and a good use for some leftover parsnips I had sitting around. Its not quite five-star worthy, but it does come close. I think maybe next time I'll omit the pinch of sugar - its a touch too sweet for my palate otherwise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2008
Everyone I mention this soup to seems a little frightened by the combination of Parnips and Ginger but as soon as they taste it they change their mind! A great soup, easy to make, and very, very tasty. Careful you don't over do it with the ginger. I make this using organic veggies and fresh organic ginger - gives a better taste in my opinion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2008
Truly awesome soup! I used 1% milk instead of half and half -- it worked fine! The cayenne adds a wonderful, subtle bite to complement the sweetly spicy vegetableness. This one's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2008
This would have been a great soup had it not turned out so sickeningly sweet. If I make it again, I'm going to add a potato.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elkhart, Indiana, USA
Living In: Cham, Zug, Switzerland

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2008
This was fun to make and delicious! I used fresh ginger instead of powdered ginger and cinnamon becuase I didn't have any all-spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Chef John's Creamy Mushroom Soup

Discover the simple trick to delicious homemade creamy mushroom soup.

Rich and Creamy Tomato Basil Soup

This creamy soup is made with fresh tomatoes, cream, and butter.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States