Creamy Oriental Dressing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2011
This dressing is WAY TOO SWEET the way it is written. I have tried it as written and was not happy with it at all. I have taken the mayo, salt, soy, added xtra ginger, a bit of onion and garlic powders, a few drops of sesame oil, some white rice wine vinegar and a bit of ketchup for at tad of sweetness and color. My way, in my opinion anyway, made it much more authentically asian.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Donna

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2009
Good base, I cut the mayo back, omitted the corn syrup and used a few Tbls honey, doubled soy sauce and ginger. I added a little garlic powder, sesame oil and rice vinegar for an added "Asian" taste. No sugar was necessary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sonoko

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Port Orchard, Washington, USA
Living In: Yakima, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2009
Yum! Tastes as close as I can get to the local restaurant's dressing on their oriental salad. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2009
I am not a fan of corn syrup, so I used about 3 tbsp of sugar instead. You might want to use more or less to taste. Because this decreased the liquids, I also added about 1 tbsp water and about 1 tbsp of gourmet white wine vinegar, and omitted the ginger (since my chicken was marinated in a ginger sauce). I also toasted about 1 tbsp of sesame seeds in a small pan with a little olive oil (this toasts really fast, so be careful!). I tossed this creamy dressing in a small head of organic green cabbage, thinly sliced, with a shredded medium carrot, and 4 small scallions. I would have added sugar snap peas if I had them on hand. I had la choy crispy chow mein noodles on hand, so I tossed in a very generous handful of those. But you can also toast up some ramen noodles (didn't have any!). Also, if you don't have sesame seeds (I get mine cheap at an asian foods store), you can use slivered almonds or pine nuts in their place.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2009
I made this recipe exactly as instructed so I could make a fair rating, 4 1/2 stars. I've had better, but I really did like this too. I used it as a dip for fresh watercrest. I used to just whip up mayo, ketchup, salt n pepa, but this was different and perfect! Thanks Jeanie!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by V.Naehu808

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waianae, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2008
I added baby carrots straight into blender to puree and one green onion, a splash of sesame oil and splash of rice wine vinegar - the dressing was soooooooooooo good!! Just like I've had at Japanese restaurants before - thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lagrange, Georgia, USA
Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2008
Yummy. I took the suggestions of others and substituded 1/2 of the mayo with sour cream and added more fresh ginger. Also added a touch of sesame oil and rice vinegar. This one is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2008
Not too bad at all! We loved it on salad! I used Miracle Whip instead of Mayo and it was okay. Was better after it sat in the fridge over night. Am going to try with mayo next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grassy Butte, North Dakota, USA
Living In: Keene, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2007
i recently was in atlanta and went to a fantastic sushi bar. i came home craving the salad dressing that they served there. this is as close as i can find, and it's delicious! i did double the soy sauce, used fresh ginger and added a fresh garlic clove for a little kick. thank you for posting this recipe - i love it! .tj. ps - for the person who doesn't know what to use it for here are a couple of suggestions: 1. salad - use fresh mixed greens, add shredded carrots, sugar peas. top with those little asian crispy noodles and sesame seeds. 2. marinade - this makes a fantastic marinade for fresh baked or grilled halibut (use more soy and the fresh ginger and garlic if doing so).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TrixieJones

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Bend, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2007
This recipe was fabulous. I didn't have time to let it cool for 2 hours, we used it immediately after making it and it was great. I put all the ingredients into a mason jar and then shook the jar until it was all mixed up. (A blender would work too). All 5 kids loved it too. That's saying something!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen F.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Eagle Mountain, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Asian Ginger Dressing

This fresh-tasting dressing is especially tasty on cabbage salads.

Raspberry Vinaigrette Dressing

Raspberry wine vinegar and Dijon mustard make an irresistible salad dressing.

How to Make Blue Cheese Dressing

See how to make creamy homemade blue cheese dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States