Creamy Orange Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2014
I made this and it was wonderful! Perfect summertime dish, light and I made it just as the recipe called except for the liquor I used frozen orange juice concentrate for a little more orange flavor. I also added salt and pepper to the flour. Perfect over some egg noodles!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mountain Lakes, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2014
Incredibly boring. Had little to no flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by William Storms

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MKELZ
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2014
Great, delicious recipe! Chives optional for picky eaters. I even cut the chicken into smaller bite-sized pieces for the smaller ones and serve over white rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2010
I MUST have done something wrong here. It tasted like boiled chicken with orange alcohol in it. I'm sure it was something I did and not the recipe so please feel free to try it yourself and tell me where I might have gone wrong. Yikes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Deer Park, Washington, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2009
It was so tasty and filling! I served with noodles and everyone still raves about what a great cook I am! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mermaidpj

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2008
As you can see from my photo, my oranges fell apart as soon as they got warm, which wasn't a horrible thing, but unexpected. The other reviews didn't mention this, so maybe it was the brand (Festival). I doubled the recipe, cut the chicken into bite-size pieces, and used penne pasta. I subbed brandy extract and O.J concentrate (quite a bit) for the orange liqueur. I had to add salt and pepper to this as it was a little bland. Hit each serving with a dash of cayenne. I may try this again with a different brand of Mandarins, as my husband really loved it. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyByrd
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2007
I love this dish. It does leave a large amount of extra sauce, but it's good on rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2006
I was not impressed at all with this recipe. The cream didn't have much flavor and neither did the chicken. Maybe if it was marinated first? I will not be making this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2006
I used this sauce recipe as a drizzle for Pecan Crusted Chicken. It was delish, but a little sweet. I added some fresh basil and blendered the whole thing. It was a hit at dinner. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mkecupcakequeen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pomona, California, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2005
This was the most delicious thing I've ever made! I made a few adustments, though, a lower fat version. I pounded out the chicken, and used 1/4 cup of flour and didn't even use all of it. I seasoned the flour with salt and pepper. I sprayed the pan generously with Pam and sprayed the side of chicken facing up, after I put the chicken in the pan. I fried the chicken til done and removed them.I added 1/4 cup of triple sec orange liquor to deglaze the pan,and added 1/4 cup heavy cream and 1/4 fat free milk. I added a splash of the lite syrup from the oranges, and 1/4 cup of OJ. I used an 11oz. can of mandarin oranges, (the whole can, drained)I reduced it a little bit. I served it with broccoli and brussel sprouts and wide egg noodles. Yum Yum! p.s. I also added more salt, it needs salt!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Braised Orange Chicken

See how to make a simple orange sauce with chicken thighs.

Creamy Parmesan & Sun-Dried Tomato Chicken Penne

See time-saving tips for a quick-and-easy chicken penne pasta dinner.

Creamy Lemon Chicken

Dinner’s ready in no time when you give yourself a little head start.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States