Creamy Orange Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2005
This didn't do much for me or anyone in my family. It was just okay. The flavor was good, but it wasn't that moist. I probably won't make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Springfield, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2005
I made this cake for a graduation party and there were several people who commented on how good it was. It was one of the few cakes that was completely gone by the end of the party. I really liked the frosting on this cake as it wasn't the typical type of frosting you usually get, that has so much sugar in it it's gritty. Would love to make it again, provided I can find another orange cake mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FRAMBUESA

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2005
This cake was awesome!!! Everyone loved it and I have had multiple requests to make it again. Shared the recipe with a friend and it was a big hit at her party too. I did follow the advice of the other reviewers and used the Duncan Hines Butter White cake with 1 1/2 tsp of orange extract in the batter. The frosting is wonderful. This cake is not to sweet at all. Making another for Father's day but going to try with lemon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2005
I made this cake for a dinner party, and everyone just loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2004
I didn't have the orange extract and thought I could substitute it with orange juice. The cake was good, just needed more orange flavor for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2004
Pretty good, but I didnt like the cool whip icing. Too fluffy. I think next time I will use dream Whip so I can control the consistency. I bet this would be good in any flavor. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2004
Excellent!! Can't say too much more about it! If you like dreamcicles, you'll love this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Gordon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2004
The Jello really didn't do anything for me in this cake. If I make this again, I will skip the Jello. I used suggestions of others here and added a little orange oil to a white cake mix, as well as using Dream Whip instead of Cool Whip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: Rancho Santa Margarita, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2004
I really liked this cake, especially the frosting. However, I don't think that Orange Jello really added much flavor to the orange cake mix. Next time I may use a white cake mix instead and add a little orange extract as well as the Jello for a colorful presentation. I would also like to make this as a layer cake so I could enjoy even more of the delicious frosting. Update 8/2/04: There is a new "Signature Dessert" mix called Orange Dreamsicle, which appears to be quite similar. I am curious to see how it will compare to this semi-homemade version.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2004
Wonderful! I found an orange cake mix at my store, but chose the white cake mix instead, because the orange stripes that the jello makes are pretty when served (you wouldn't see them if the cake were orange). I added 1 tsp. orange extract to the batter for orange flavor (would definitely do again!). I like the taste of Dream Whip better than the frozen whipped topping, so I whipped up the pudding mix, same amount of milk, and 1 envelope of Dream Whip. I used 3/4 tsp. vanilla, and 1/4 tsp. orange extract (thought the original amounts might be too overpowering). The results were fantastic! I used a nice garnish - sliced a small orange thin, then cut each slice halfway, twisted, and placed them on top. Pretty! Will definitely make this cake again. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
92 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 137) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Creamy Coconut Cake

See how to make a moist and creamy coconut cake.

Perfect Flourless Orange Cake

This light, moist orange cake has complex flavors and is completely flourless.

Coconut Poke Cake

See how to make this moist coconut cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States