Creamy Orange Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: May 11, 2006
Nice change from other cakes. I followed the recipe, and the cake turned out great. The next day the cake was just as good. Over night in the refrigerator the cake was fine. Orange flavor was perfect. Would make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Snellville, Georgia, USA
Living In: Saint Charles, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2006
Very unique and delicious recipe! The only thing I did differently was: I used french vanilla cake mix because I couldn't find orange, which actually worked out better - it gave the cake a 'marbled' effect when the jello was added. I baked it in a 13 x 9 cake pan. All in all, it was very delicious, we almost ate the whole thing in one weekend! The only reason why I couldn't give this recipe five stars is because the frosting left something to be desired. It lacked flavor and was too airy, which contrasted poorly with the dense texture of the cake. Next time I may try adding more pudding and less whipped cream, but I'll certainly be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andi

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2006
This cake had a nice flavor to it but it wasn't what I was expecting. I made this in a bundt pan and it came out nicely. The frosting came out wrong for me but that was my fault. This is a nice jello cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hazleton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2005
My mother-in-law made this for my birthday at my request. Ever since, I've made this cake SO many times. I'm usually anti-box cake, but it's just irresistible! However, I have yet to have found an orange box cake. I substitute a while cake mix and add a couple of teaspoons of orange extract to the mix. If I use vanilla pudding I always substitute french vanilla instead, but I've topped it with Jello's cheesecake pudding and it's SOOO good. You really can't go wrong with this cake if you like dreamcicles. It really is easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookaholic

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2005
I used a white cake mix and added 1 tsp orange extract to the mix. I also used 1 package orange jello instead of orange extract in the frosting. Prepare 1 day ahead of time and chill. Prepared this for a birthday party and got many many compliments on how good it was.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2005
This was well-received by the family- will make again, but with a couple of changes: orange extract in the batter (1 and 1/2 tsps) and smaller and more holes so more "stripes" will appear throughout the cake. Used a plain white cake mix and that worked great. *Loved* the frosting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2005
I love this cake, only one change, I made double the gelatin mixture also made the holes with something a litter smaller but lots of holes,next day is when its best after the gelatin has time to set.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2005
This didn't do much for me or anyone in my family. It was just okay. The flavor was good, but it wasn't that moist. I probably won't make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Springfield, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2005
I made this cake for a graduation party and there were several people who commented on how good it was. It was one of the few cakes that was completely gone by the end of the party. I really liked the frosting on this cake as it wasn't the typical type of frosting you usually get, that has so much sugar in it it's gritty. Would love to make it again, provided I can find another orange cake mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FRAMBUESA

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2005
This cake was awesome!!! Everyone loved it and I have had multiple requests to make it again. Shared the recipe with a friend and it was a big hit at her party too. I did follow the advice of the other reviewers and used the Duncan Hines Butter White cake with 1 1/2 tsp of orange extract in the batter. The frosting is wonderful. This cake is not to sweet at all. Making another for Father's day but going to try with lemon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 144) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Coconut Cake

See how to make a moist and creamy coconut cake.

Perfect Flourless Orange Cake

This light, moist orange cake has complex flavors and is completely flourless.

Coconut Poke Cake

See how to make this moist coconut cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States