Creamy Orange Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: May 2, 2007
i used angel food cake instead of white cake. i was not crazy about the change. i will try this one more time with the white cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sarahbrown

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2007
This cake was awesome and moist! Tasted just like a creamscicle!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Attica, New York, USA
Living In: Hamburg, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2006
This cake came out moist and delicious, and didn't taste like a "cake mix" cake. I left out the orange flavoring in the frosting though and just used vanilla extract instead. I would also choose something smaller than a wooden spoon handle to make the holes next time. I think even a toothpick would be large enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CeruleanMoon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2006
Does this cake have to be refrigerated? If I take it to a barbecue, or an outdoor function, will the icing be yukky? It sounds DELICIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Connersville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2006
Nice change from other cakes. I followed the recipe, and the cake turned out great. The next day the cake was just as good. Over night in the refrigerator the cake was fine. Orange flavor was perfect. Would make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Snellville, Georgia, USA
Living In: Saint Charles, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2006
Very unique and delicious recipe! The only thing I did differently was: I used french vanilla cake mix because I couldn't find orange, which actually worked out better - it gave the cake a 'marbled' effect when the jello was added. I baked it in a 13 x 9 cake pan. All in all, it was very delicious, we almost ate the whole thing in one weekend! The only reason why I couldn't give this recipe five stars is because the frosting left something to be desired. It lacked flavor and was too airy, which contrasted poorly with the dense texture of the cake. Next time I may try adding more pudding and less whipped cream, but I'll certainly be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andi

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2006
This cake had a nice flavor to it but it wasn't what I was expecting. I made this in a bundt pan and it came out nicely. The frosting came out wrong for me but that was my fault. This is a nice jello cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hazleton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2005
My mother-in-law made this for my birthday at my request. Ever since, I've made this cake SO many times. I'm usually anti-box cake, but it's just irresistible! However, I have yet to have found an orange box cake. I substitute a while cake mix and add a couple of teaspoons of orange extract to the mix. If I use vanilla pudding I always substitute french vanilla instead, but I've topped it with Jello's cheesecake pudding and it's SOOO good. You really can't go wrong with this cake if you like dreamcicles. It really is easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookaholic

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2005
I used a white cake mix and added 1 tsp orange extract to the mix. I also used 1 package orange jello instead of orange extract in the frosting. Prepare 1 day ahead of time and chill. Prepared this for a birthday party and got many many compliments on how good it was.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2005
This was well-received by the family- will make again, but with a couple of changes: orange extract in the batter (1 and 1/2 tsps) and smaller and more holes so more "stripes" will appear throughout the cake. Used a plain white cake mix and that worked great. *Loved* the frosting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 138) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Coconut Cake

See how to make a moist and creamy coconut cake.

Perfect Flourless Orange Cake

This light, moist orange cake has complex flavors and is completely flourless.

Coconut Poke Cake

See how to make this moist coconut cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States