Creamy Orange Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2008
VERY GOOD except for the gloppy icing. The recipe was follwed exactly and the icing turned out too thin and too much like pudding. I had to leave it off and made a butter cream icing with orange extract. Then it was perfectly delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by copetenn
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2008
I made two of these, one with the cool whip topping as the recipe calls for, and also a cream-cheese dreamsicle icing. Both taste JUST like the dreamsicle ice cream treat. The cream cheese icing is as follows: cream 1/2 of an 8-oz cream cheese block with 1 1/2 Tablespoons chilled butter until fluffy. Mix in two cups sifted confectioners sugar. Mix in 2 Tablespoons vanilla extract and 1 Tablespoon orange extract. This icing is much thinner than the cool whip topping but tastes the same.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by copetenn

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Coppell, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2008
Good, cool cake. If I were to make it again I'd put a can of mandarin oranges in the mix before baking it to give it a more 'orangey' flavor. I also like the fact that it's refrigerated and it is still good with ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sarahfraser

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2008
Very good! Easy to make - big hit with friends and family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2008
Absolutely delish! My grocery store didn't have orange cake mix so I went with lemon! It got wonderful reviews--and I'm thinking lemon cake mix with raspberry jello and some raspberry topping would be really good, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emmy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fullerton, California, USA
Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2008
nice but next time think will use Grand Marnier in the cake and topping. Poke holes in cake and drizzle over and maybe whip into heavy cream and spread over cooled cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Union City, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2008
I also had trouble finding an orange cake mix. I used a lemon cake instead and made this for Easter. Everyone raved about the cake. Coming from a family of chocolate lovers that was strong praise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2008
Made this for a party and everyone LOVED it. Didn't have orange extract so I only used the vanilla and it turned out fine. Would be good with many different flavors - strawberry, cherry, pineapple, etc. Tried it with lemon and it was FANTASTIC!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2007
I love this cake!! I make it all the time, and i put 1 package of dream whip in my cake mix, and my cake comes out the perfect texture everytime. Before I discovered dream whip my cakes were always moist but still crumbly (like a normal cake), but if you are using a white cake with this recipe and want the orange stripes to show perfectly, then use dream whip because it keeps your cake still very moist, but makes it a little firmer and dense (but not dry at all)so when you cut into it, it looks pretty and smooth and no crumbs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
68 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2007
This cake was very tasty and simple to make. We love jello cake at our house, so it was a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 134) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Perfect Flourless Orange Cake

This light, moist orange cake has complex flavors and is completely flourless.

Creamy Coconut Cake

See how to make a moist and creamy coconut cake.

Pineapple Angel Food Cake I

This impressive pineapple angel food cake is impossibly easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States