Creamy Orange Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2009
OMGoodness this was awesome! I am a chocolate person but my sons love Creamsicles so I made this for them. I couldn't find an orange cake mix so I used a yellow cake mix and substituted orange juice for the water. I don't like cool whip so I used real whip cream instead. I didn't have orange extract but had orange oil for candy making, used a few drops and it has a really fresh orange flavour. I also added a can of mandarin oranges drained and chopped up to the jello mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by the4taals

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Owen Sound, Ontario, Canada
Photo by Rae
Reviewed: May 20, 2009
Loved this! I will be making this again. The frosting is amazing. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sierra Vista, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2009
I would only rate this recipe a 3, but my hubby and his friends say a 4... need less to say, they liked it more than I did...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CNM CATERING
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2009
we all enjoyed this. i made exactly as recipe states. thanks will make again possibly with different jello flavors
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CNM CATERING

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Edgewater Park, New Jersey, USA
Photo by Bev511
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2009
I made this cake using 1/2 recipe of the "Thirty Minute Yellow Cake" recipe (also on A/R) baked in a 9 inch round dish (because I would eat a whole 13X9 all by myself if I made the big one :) I used the whole 4 size serving box of sugar free Orange Jello as directed for the full recipe, and I "frosted" it with the recipe listed here, except I used sugar free french vanilla pudding, skim milk and only about 1 cup of cool whip lite, orange extract, no vanilla (I figured french vanilla had enough and it did). OH MY GOSH, this was SOOOOO good, I couldn't even believe the version I made was reduced calorie and fat. I am betting that this will be a new classic for me, I LOVE IT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bev511

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2009
We live in a town of about 25,000 people, and have 4 grocery stores, but none had an orange cake mix, so substitued a lemon cake mix. It was the closest thing I could find. Other than that, didn't change a thing. Very good and moist. Definitely a keeper!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Aberdeen, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2009
Wow,this cake was a dream to make! It didn`t last long in our house-two days!! This is a keeper for sure. Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookin crazy
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2009
Really good. Everyone enjoyed it. Wasn't amazing, but good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Meg R.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2009
We all enjoyed this cake. I have tried both Cool Whip and Dream Whip. I liked both.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2009
Awesome! for a change, I used strawberry cake mix and jello!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 135) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Perfect Flourless Orange Cake

This light, moist orange cake has complex flavors and is completely flourless.

Creamy Coconut Cake

See how to make a moist and creamy coconut cake.

Pineapple Angel Food Cake I

This impressive pineapple angel food cake is impossibly easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States