Creamy Orange Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2011
Easy to make and refreshing to taste! I made this on a beach trip from which my family just returned. Everyone loved it because it wasn't too heavy - a perfect summer dessert. Even my nephews, ages 6 and 9 liked it! I added some sliced oranges to the top to dress up the presentation. I'd definitely make it again. Next time, I'm trying it with strawberry instead. Thanks so much for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2011
Addictive! This recipe completely changed my mind about Dreamsicle pops!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2011
What a wonderful dessert this is! I decided to make cupcakes instead of a cake (easier to transport and share). To the batter I added 1 tsp of orange extract for flavoring and also to try to mask that artificial "cake mix" taste that cake box mixes tend to leave as an aftertaste in my mouth. I made 20 cupcakes altogether. It took 23 minutes to bake. I poked holes into the cupcakes while it was still hot using toothpicks, then drizzled the orange gelatin over. I let it cool completely, 1 hour. To the pudding mix I added 1 tsp orange extract, omitting the vanilla extract, plus I added some orange zest. I folded in half of the cool whipped topping and spread around the cupcakes. It was just the right amount of frosting for each cupcake. I placed the cupcakes into the refrigerator to chill. The results were fantastic! A light, refreshing delicious ORANGE-Y cupcake. Yum! These tasted just like orange dreamsicles I remember as a little girl. The cake itself is moist and the whipped pudding on top of the cupcake is light and creamy orange-y. I can see the specks of orange zest throughout the frosting and I really liked the stripe design on the inside of the cupcakes. Although I don't know if anyone else noticed the strips in the cupcakes as they were gobbled up so fast! All I was told is that it tasted good-like orange shebert. This recipe is easy to follow and leaves room to try a variety of other flavors in place of orange. A keeper for use again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OkinawanPrincess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2011
I made this cake the first time following the orange recipe. The next time I used lemon in place of the orange. Talk about good, everyone loved both flavors. I wouldn't change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suzanne

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Orem, Utah, USA
Living In: Eureka, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2011
I couldn't find orange cake at my local store so I added 1 tbsp of orange extract to my white cake mix and an envelope of dream whip as others suggested. I heated the water that was suggested on the cake box then added one packet of orange jello mix to it. When it was cool I added to the eggs and oil. This turns the cake mix orange and added more orange flavor. I also zested some orange into the batter. After I put the icing on it I sliced up some fresh orange and put it on top of it, it turned out wonderful! I had many compliaments on this cake! Thank you so much for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Bartlesville, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Flower Mound, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2010
If you can find orange cake mix (I had to try 5 different grocery stores before I lucked out, now I stock up), this cake is a crowd pleaser. Another one I made for my daughter's graduation party. It looks beautiful and tastes even better. Thanks, Bea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cherry Hill, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2010
This is a light cake with a delicate taste. Call it a "Dreamsicle Cake."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARY

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Frisco, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MickeyRenee
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2010
This cake is delicious and gets moister the longer it sits...One thing this recipe fails to mention is that the cake should be refrigerated as soon as the gelatin is poured over it. Also, it needs to stay refrigerated due to the whipped topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MickeyRenee

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2010
I first made the recipe using yellow cake mix. I couldnt really taste the orange but it was really good and moist! So then i made the recipe using the orange cake mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2010
Very good, husband loved the frosting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tstorm

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 143) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Coconut Cake

See how to make a moist and creamy coconut cake.

Perfect Flourless Orange Cake

This light, moist orange cake has complex flavors and is completely flourless.

Coconut Poke Cake

See how to make this moist coconut cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States