Creamy Orange Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by mominml
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2012
This was just "okay" for us. I did use a white cake mix instead of orange, but don't think that the orange would have really helped. The gelatin part just seemed to make the cake "wet" in places. The topping was actually very good, and I ended up scraping most of it off and eating it with a spoon. It was like a citrus mousse. Wouldn't make the cake again, but may make the topping and eat it out of a bowl!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mominml

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Moses Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by InsanelySweet
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2012
If the frozen pops are your favorite then you will love this! I left the extracts out of the topping and it still turned out delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by InsanelySweet

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2011
Easy to make and refreshing to taste! I made this on a beach trip from which my family just returned. Everyone loved it because it wasn't too heavy - a perfect summer dessert. Even my nephews, ages 6 and 9 liked it! I added some sliced oranges to the top to dress up the presentation. I'd definitely make it again. Next time, I'm trying it with strawberry instead. Thanks so much for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2011
Addictive! This recipe completely changed my mind about Dreamsicle pops!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2011
What a wonderful dessert this is! I decided to make cupcakes instead of a cake (easier to transport and share). To the batter I added 1 tsp of orange extract for flavoring and also to try to mask that artificial "cake mix" taste that cake box mixes tend to leave as an aftertaste in my mouth. I made 20 cupcakes altogether. It took 23 minutes to bake. I poked holes into the cupcakes while it was still hot using toothpicks, then drizzled the orange gelatin over. I let it cool completely, 1 hour. To the pudding mix I added 1 tsp orange extract, omitting the vanilla extract, plus I added some orange zest. I folded in half of the cool whipped topping and spread around the cupcakes. It was just the right amount of frosting for each cupcake. I placed the cupcakes into the refrigerator to chill. The results were fantastic! A light, refreshing delicious ORANGE-Y cupcake. Yum! These tasted just like orange dreamsicles I remember as a little girl. The cake itself is moist and the whipped pudding on top of the cupcake is light and creamy orange-y. I can see the specks of orange zest throughout the frosting and I really liked the stripe design on the inside of the cupcakes. Although I don't know if anyone else noticed the strips in the cupcakes as they were gobbled up so fast! All I was told is that it tasted good-like orange shebert. This recipe is easy to follow and leaves room to try a variety of other flavors in place of orange. A keeper for use again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OkinawanPrincess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2011
I made this cake the first time following the orange recipe. The next time I used lemon in place of the orange. Talk about good, everyone loved both flavors. I wouldn't change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suzanne

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Orem, Utah, USA
Living In: Eureka, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2011
I couldn't find orange cake at my local store so I added 1 tbsp of orange extract to my white cake mix and an envelope of dream whip as others suggested. I heated the water that was suggested on the cake box then added one packet of orange jello mix to it. When it was cool I added to the eggs and oil. This turns the cake mix orange and added more orange flavor. I also zested some orange into the batter. After I put the icing on it I sliced up some fresh orange and put it on top of it, it turned out wonderful! I had many compliaments on this cake! Thank you so much for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Bartlesville, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Flower Mound, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2010
If you can find orange cake mix (I had to try 5 different grocery stores before I lucked out, now I stock up), this cake is a crowd pleaser. Another one I made for my daughter's graduation party. It looks beautiful and tastes even better. Thanks, Bea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cherry Hill, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2010
This is a light cake with a delicate taste. Call it a "Dreamsicle Cake."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARY

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Frisco, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MickeyRenee
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2010
This cake is delicious and gets moister the longer it sits...One thing this recipe fails to mention is that the cake should be refrigerated as soon as the gelatin is poured over it. Also, it needs to stay refrigerated due to the whipped topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MickeyRenee

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 135) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Perfect Flourless Orange Cake

This light, moist orange cake has complex flavors and is completely flourless.

Creamy Coconut Cake

See how to make a moist and creamy coconut cake.

Pineapple Angel Food Cake I

This impressive pineapple angel food cake is impossibly easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States