Creamy Mushroom Spaghetti Squash Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 28, 2009
Tasty! I've been looking for something that would temper the sweetness of squash, and this combination worked excellently. This dish is a creamy, wonderful-tasting accompaniment to many dishes, we served it with mashed potatoes and sausages, would go great with turkey at Thanksgiving, I think! Easy, too! The only difference was I baked my squash in the oven by cutting it in half and inverting into a pan with a bit of water. Also I used paprika and parsley for garnish and seasoning. Wonderful either way!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2009
Very tasty and a different way to prepare spaghetti squash. The only thing I'd change for next time is halving the amount of margarine... I would rather save my calories for dessert. I'll report back if this changes things too drastically when I make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2009
I added sauteed brussel sprouts and cubed chicken breast. Very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2009
Maybe my spaghetti squash was on the small size but this made way too much sauce and it overpowered the squash. The flavor of the sauce was nice and perhaps it would be good on chicken but on the squash it was too rich and heavy. Probably won't make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Novi, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2009
Nice easy side dish for spaghetti squash that uses ingredients that you likely already have in the house. I made it, and it was enough for at least 5 portions (the squash I used was a good size at about 11 inches long). Giving it 5 stars because it is easy to make and a different flavor than most of the tomato-based spaghetti squash recipes out there.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2009
Loved it! I definently only put 2-3 T of butter, and I spot cooked the garlic cloves in a skillet with the peeling on,before i cut them.. It gives them a wonderful roasted flavor... the only other thing I added was a little less than a 1/4 of cup of parmasian cheese to the sauce... very creamy!!! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2009
Definitely different and my family was pleasantly surprised! My squash was large and I should have make more sauce. I also sauteed a mixture of mushrooms with the onion in only 1 T of butter and used fat free sour cream. Served with a nice salad to round out the meal. Will add to monthly rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fulton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Bremerton, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2009
My husband liked it, but I wasn't thrilled. I'm a vegetarian, and even I thought it needed chicken or something.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2009
Delicious with some modiciations! First, I sauteed lean pork loin with garlic powder and seasoning salt and set aside. Instead of cream of mushroom soup I made a roux with olive oil and flour, then added fat free half and half until creamy. Added two cans of mushrooms (fresh would also be good!). My husband turned up his nose when I told him we were having sqash instead of spaghetti, but after his first bite he told me this was a keeper! With some modifications, can be a very unique and healthy alternative to carb-laden pasta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2009
Nobody in my family liked it. The naturally sweet squash and the mushroom gravy just didn't work well together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Catherine Downing

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 74) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spaghetti Squash I

See how to make scrumptious spaghetti squash “spaghetti."

Spaghetti Squash with Pine Nuts and Romano

Spaghetti squash stands in deliciously for regular old pasta.

Spaghetti Squash with Paleo Meat Sauce

Strands of spaghetti squash are topped with a paleo-friendly meat sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States