Creamy Mushroom Spaghetti Squash Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2012
what a great comfort food substitute! I used low fat sour cream and soup and reduced the butter to three TBS of light margarine. i also added a couple of cups of sliced baby bellas and topped with grilled chicken to make it more like a stroganoff. this is on my regular menu at home!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2012
I often hesitate to use recipes that start with canned soup. Glad I tried this one, though! So easy to microwave the squash. I cut way down on the butter, used no-fat Greek yogurt for the sour cream, and topped the finished dish with lots of sautéed mushrooms. Excellent vegetarian main dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Melbourne Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2012
Not having ever used spaghetti squash in a similar way, I gave this recipe a go. I ended up baking the squash whole after poking some holes in a 375 degree oven for about 80 mins. I had some time, and this way the hard outer layer softens and you don't have to fight with it =) (Also, reserve the seeds to toast later if you want!) My very picky husband who loathes squash gave this a solid 7.5 stars/10 possible. I also upped the spices a bit (more garlic and salt) and added some cooked chicken pieces. I will make this again! I did not have too much sauce at all, but my squash was on the larger side. I found that I needed to add a bit of water to thin the sauce just a tad because it was so thick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heidi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gig Harbor, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by *~Lissa~*
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2012
Not a fan of the gelatinous soup in a can so I made my own delish version. Hubby gave this 5 stars, but I felt it was a bit on the watery side from the squash. I made my soup replacement nice and thick, but the squash still made the dish too watery. Taste was great though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *~Lissa~*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Attleboro, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Cobb, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2012
I think like another reviewer my squash may have been too small. There was too much sauce for the amount of spaghetti. As it was so runny, I needed to add more vegetables. I used what I had on hand with mushrooms and broccoli. I was tasty but I thought that the sour cream was overwhelming. Next time, if my squash is the same size, I will use half a can of soup and 1/4 cup of sour cream. I will try this again because the potential is definitely there.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ally T

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newport, Monmouthshire, Wales, U.K.
Living In: Stittsville, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2012
Made this today and it was very good. I did have to change it up, as I did not have all the ingredients on hand. I had only sweet onion so I diced up 2 or 3 T. and cooked that in a bit of olive oil, added garlic, cream of mushroom soup, and heavy cream (about 1/4 cup) to use that up---since I didn't have sour cream either! added an egg and a bit of croutons, S & P and a bit of Parm. cheese. Then added the cooked squash, mixed it all up, put it in a greased pan and baked it at 350 for about 40 minutes. Everyone gave it a thumbs up at dinner today!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2012
Love this recipe! The first time I made it I didn't have cream of mushroom soup on hand, so substitued cream of celery and it turned out VERY tasty! Made it a second time with the correct ingredients and still very tasty. I think the next time I may make substitutions someone else recommended with fat free soup, no butter, etc. Otherwise I feel so glutenous eating this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by anaw
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2012
Very rich!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2012
Added a whole bunch of fresh mushrooms and 1/4 cup Romano graded cheese! It was wonderful and very filling =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2012
not bad -- i'd make this again. i didn't have condensed soup, i had the ready-to-serve stuff; i also added some fresh mushrooms into the mix with the onions & garlic as some others suggested, and it made for a good low-fat "cream" sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 72) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spaghetti Squash I

See how to make scrumptious spaghetti squash “spaghetti."

Spaghetti Squash with Pine Nuts and Romano

Spaghetti squash stands in deliciously for regular old pasta.

Spaghetti Squash with Paleo Meat Sauce

Strands of spaghetti squash are topped with a paleo-friendly meat sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States