Creamy Mushroom Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2014
Oh I am in love with this recipe. On the night I prepared it, there was a big storm coming through which killed the power as I was cutting the mushrooms. But instead of placing this on the back burner, I followed through it with estimated measurements and the backlight of my cellphone to guide me. Originally I wanted the soup to be creamier, but without power, blenders and mixers were out of the question (there wasn't sufficient lighting to cut the mushrooms and I for one love my fingers). Even through it all, this soup came out as a smash hit. There weren't any major changes added here except chicken broth being replaced with beef, and both white and portabella mushrooms being used in the place of shiitake. A few more spices were added, but that's neither here nor there. A friend of mine try this soup reheated yesterday (she's my food guinea pig ---always up to taste my concoctions). Not only did she fall in love with this, but she has even asked that I make a larger batch this weekend. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SquidTheKitchenEnthusiast

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2014
This soup is just delicious - perfect for a chilly fall day. We followed the recipe as written and wouldn't change a thing except to double the recipe for leftovers. Thanks for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2014
This was absolutely delicious! I followed most of the recipe and used suggestions from other comments like beef broth instead and grated fresh nutmeg. I also added a little red wine at the beginning when cooking the mushrooms and shallots; wine that you can drink while making this great soup. I used my immersion blender and left some chunky pieces. I will never use mushroom soup from a can again, thank you thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2014
I loved it it's easy to make. Is it fine if I put a little bit of cheese to make it thicker?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Zak Ziko

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2014
This soup was fantastic. I am not a cook so I followed the recipe exactly-leaving out the pinch of cinnamon. It had a really nice consistency- not too thick, which is often what I don't like about cream soups. Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2014
I modified it a little bit, to make do with what I had in the kitchen and it came out great. I added broccoli and chicken (cooked leftovers) to the mix, using water and a bouillon cube instead of stock and half whole milk and half canned milk instead of Half and Half. Garnished with green onion and finely chopped hot pepper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2014
Nice recipe. The cinnamon was a nice touch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2014
Loved this recipe as a base! I subbed beef broth as I had it on hand and thought it went together nicely. I also subbed white mushrooms for shiitake (economical reasoning) and added a yellow onion/garlic (diced and sautéed), ground coriander seed, white/black pepper, tons of thyme and parsley, and a hint of nutmeg. If you're like me and like your food to be pretty, add the thyme and parsley. It tastes great and dresses it up a bit - especially when you add a bit of the parsley to the top when serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2014
This is really tasty and quick! I just made it (onions instead of shallots, cream instead of half and half). It came out perfect and I am a lousy cook. (Like really really lousy) Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2014
Used only portobello mushrooms as well, sweet cream instead of half-and-half and added 2 potatoes and a carrot, no blending - tastes delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 163) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Chef John's Creamy Mushroom Soup

Discover the simple trick to delicious homemade creamy mushroom soup.

Cream of Mushroom Soup I

See how to make rich, creamy mushroom soup from scratch.

Creamy Wild Mushroom Ragout

See how to make a creamy mushroom stew with wild mushrooms.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States