Creamy Mushroom Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2013
Added cayenne pepper for a little bite and it blended everything in my BlendTec to make a Cream of Mushroom Soup. Wow, I'm impressed!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2013
Delicious and easy, no more canned soup here!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2013
Made this soup last night with following changes...first I doubled the recipe then used 1 box portobello and 1 box white button mushrooms. Instead of using 1/2 and 1/2 used a little extra flour and 1/2 tsp hot curry powder and 1 tsp regular curry powder and let it cook for a few minutes to let the curry "bloom". Then added 1 % milk. I blended all of it but it would have been equally good with only half of soup blended, so there was a little more texture. I didn't use the cinnamon. Had a soup similar to this out in California and thought their curry add an interesting flavor. Even better the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2013
Delicious! Made as written with the exception of adding some port wine to deglaze the pan, and substituting nutmeg for the cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2013
This soup was excellent! I used all shitake mushrooms and opted not to add the cinnamon. I did add four slices of cut-up, cooked bacon and about 1/2 c. of grated mild cheddar cheese at the end. I cooked it just till the cheese melted. It was so yummy. My husband is a very picky eater and liked it, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2013
I added 1/4 cup sherry just because I know it adds so much to mushroom soup but I also added barley for a heartier soup. This is a great recipe also because it doesn't make a ton.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Claire

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chattanooga, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Murfreesboro, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2012
I would probably make this again, but it was a little bland. I added nutmeg and marjoram to the cinnamon. I also used red onion instead of shallots, and added a clove of garlic. I will decrease the butter next time. I used regular white mushrooms and baby bellas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2012
This is great. I tried to follow the recipe. You can use any combination of mushrooms. I added a little cooking sherry with the chicken broth. Yummmm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2012
This turned out really good! We like full flavor, so I used the recommended shallots. I also used mostly portabello mushrooms. I also added chicken to give it some protien and substance. I cut it into small cubes and cooked in a little butter with some of the shallots. I also doubled this recipe with the intention of feeding 4 people- but it will only be enough to feed 2 as a meal (my husband is a big eater). For feeding more, adding a salad and breadsticks helped stretch it. I also made it a little early and put it in the crockpot on warm. That way it is ready to go when everyone gets home, and you don't have to worry about scalding or boiling it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2012
Yummy... used 2 T butter and 1 T Olive Oil, button mushrooms, and whole milk. Didn't really like the cinnamon - I'll leave that out next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 168) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John's Creamy Mushroom Soup

Discover the simple trick to delicious homemade creamy mushroom soup.

Cream of Mushroom Soup I

See how to make rich, creamy mushroom soup from scratch.

Creamy Asparagus and Cauliflower Soup

This simple veggie soup tastes rich and creamy, but it's completely dairy-free.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States