Creamy Mushroom Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2008
Awesome recipe. We made it as directed, but with 1 package of shitake, and one of portabella. GOOD soup! Served with french bread, and we are happy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2008
This is a fantastic recipe, one of my husbands favorites. I made this soup for my family (12 servings for only 5 people) and we ate it all. The sad part was that it was only a side dish. I did make a couple of modifications to the recipe. First, I used a combination of button and portobella mushrooms. Second, I used green onion finely chopped instead of shallots. Lastly, I omitted the cinnamon. The soup was wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Eastpointe, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2008
This was a really easy and tasty! The store didn't have any shitake mushrooms, so I ended up using the same quantity of button mushrooms instead. I did find that 2 tablespoons of flour wasn't nearly enough to thicken the soup though.. I added around a half a cup and it came out creamy and delicious! I also omitted the cinnamon and added a few shakes of grill seasoning for a nice savory flavor. I sauteed 4 more shallots in about a half a cup of butter, spread the mix on thick pieces of sourdough bread and put them in a 400 degree oven to make crunchy croutons to dip in the soup :) Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2008
Really excellent soup. I used all 2 cups portobellos and added about another 3/4 cup of buttons. Added 2 cloves of garlic and a tsp and a half of thyme. Might reduce it to one tsp next time. Also added a full 2 c of broth. Pureed most of the mushroom mixture as per a reviewer suggestion after it was done cooking; I prefer it with less whole chunks of mushroom. Omitted cinnamon topping. Great stuff!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aredendra

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2008
Really good soup. I tweeked it a bit with spices, but I do that. I also used it for a green bean casserole that turned out great and was a big hit at Christmas. I topped it with dehydrated fresh onions tat I did myself and it was wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by devanmom

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2008
I've made this several times and EVERYBODY Loves it. I add a dash of McCormick’s ground Chipotle Chile Pepper to add a little smokiness. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Evanston, Illinois, USA
Living In: Round Lake Beach, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2008
I followed the recipe to a "T" (will experiment later as I like to add my own flare/flavour after trying the posted recipe). Didn't have access to some of the kinds of mushrooms listed so, simply used white mushrooms diced up fine (not pureed). What a fabulous flavour. Was easy to make (my 3-yr old daughter was able to help). Recommend this recipe to anyone that wants something easy to make and tastes great. Will definitely be a family favourite. Wife isn't a fan of mushroom soup and now she can't get enough. Thank You!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by M_DAWG

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Atikokan, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Cold Lake, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2008
Wonderful!!! Absolutely loved it! I used a variety of dried mushrooms I bought from Costco. I even put in too much cinnamon by accident. It will be added to my tried & trues!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Port Orchard, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2008
Truly Amazing..... the one thing to add is 1/2 cup of white wine before the flour. Let the alcohol burn off for 2-3 mins. Soooo good.....thanks for the recipe (ps....i put the cream in but this recipe definitely does NOT need it...the colour and taste is so good before too)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nepean, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2008
What a great soup. I also took the others advice and added garlic and a little worchestorshire sauce to give it a little more flavor also used 2% milk and it was still very creamy. I used dry mushrooms and at the end put the soup in the blender to make a nice bisque. GREAT GREAT WONDERFUL!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Townshend, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 162) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Creamy Mushroom Soup

Discover the simple trick to delicious homemade creamy mushroom soup.

Cream of Mushroom Soup I

See how to make rich, creamy mushroom soup from scratch.

Creamy Wild Mushroom Ragout

See how to make a creamy mushroom stew with wild mushrooms.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States