Creamy Mushroom Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 6, 2007
Outstanding! I did make some modifications based on what seemed right to me. Beef instead of chicken broth because I think it goes better with mushrooms. Shiitakes were $9 a pound at the market while portobelllos were half that, so I used all portobello! And finally, cinnamon sounded completely bizarre, but a grating of nutmeg sounded like just the ticket. Chop the mushrooms and shallots fine and you'll have no need to puree any of the soup. Saute them until well caramelized for best flavor and be generous with the peppermill and you'll have a fantastic rich soup. However, the shallot flavor was a bit strong, so I'll use half the quantity next time. I am going to serve with a salad and garlic bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
131 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chellebelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2006
Loved it. Used only portabello mushrooms, about 3 cups diced. Used an immersion blender to chop up the majority of the mushrooms prior to serving. Added 2 large cloves of finely minced garlic, too. Passed on the cream, made a little roux and added 1% milk instead. Still was very creamy. A dash or two of liquid smoke near the end of the cooking. Those reviewers who said this looked like sink water are sadly lacking a real appreciation of what a good cream of mushroom soup should look like. This is not the popular, sanitized for public consumption, canned soup... this recipe is the real thing... A good chunk of crusty bread is required for dunking. Yum Delicious!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
111 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Photog

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brookfield, New York, USA
Living In: Clinton, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LITTLEONE250
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2005
This is a perfect mushroom soup! I added a bunch of chopped white mushrooms only to make it heartier and garnished with a hint of rosemary. I also only pureed half the mushroom mixture and left the other half chunky. Wonderful! It's just what mushroom soup is supposed to be, creamy and comforting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
71 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2001
The cook: 33 year-old, cooking-challenged bachelor. The victims: 5 family members over for Thanksgiving. The verdict: a great soup! Easy and quick to make, a hearty, rich soup that tastes wonderful. Not for the lactose-intolerant, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2010
This was so delicious! I have been looking for a mushroom soup for a long time! unfortunately I didn't have any shiitake mushrooms or shallots so I used regular button along with the portobello, I didn't have half and half cream so I used heavy whipping cream! I also used the other idea of others and used nutmeg instead of cinnamon and I also used garlic salt instead of regular! I love veggies so I shredded up some carrots and cut up some red potatoes which complimented the earthiness of the mushrooms! I will defiantly be making this again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Autumn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bryan, Ohio, USA
Living In: Toledo, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2001
I served this at a formal dinner party and the guests raved! I tried a whole selection of mushrooms also. I just don't think you can mess this recipe up - it's so easy and so good! I saved some of the mushrooms to garnish on top too. Great presentation!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TMoore

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2005
Why use half-and-half when you can use heavy cream. Very good. Better double it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TROY96

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2001
MY HUSBAND AND I BELONG TO A CHURCH BASED ON POLISH HERITAGE. EACH CHRISTMAS WE HAVE A CHRISTMAS DINNER AT CHURCH (CALLED WIGILIA) AND IT BEGINS WITH A MOST DELICIOUS MUSHROOM SOUP. I HAVE BEEN LOOKING FOR ANYTHING THAT RESEMBLES THIS SOUP. THIS RECIPE IS ABOUT THE CLOSEST I'VE FOUND. IT IS S-O-O-O-O-O EASY TO MAKE AND IS ESPECIALLY DELICIOUS.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Turtle Creek, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Mckeesport, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2006
This was fantastic!! I used an entire package of shiitake mushrooms (came out to 1 1/2 cups) and entire package of portobello mushrooms (came out to 2 cups), and it wasn't too much at all! I made mine soup lowfat by using only 1 Tbl. butter and fat-free half-and-half. I also added 3/4 tsp. salt and 1/8 tsp. pepper. Perfect amounts! Thanks so much for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2004
I added some fresh thyme and two small cloves of minced garlic! It was delicious, fast, and easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 160) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Creamy Mushroom Soup

Discover the simple trick to delicious homemade creamy mushroom soup.

Cream of Mushroom Soup I

See how to make rich, creamy mushroom soup from scratch.

Creamy Wild Mushroom Ragout

See how to make a creamy mushroom stew with wild mushrooms.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States