Creamy Mushroom Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2001
MY HUSBAND AND I BELONG TO A CHURCH BASED ON POLISH HERITAGE. EACH CHRISTMAS WE HAVE A CHRISTMAS DINNER AT CHURCH (CALLED WIGILIA) AND IT BEGINS WITH A MOST DELICIOUS MUSHROOM SOUP. I HAVE BEEN LOOKING FOR ANYTHING THAT RESEMBLES THIS SOUP. THIS RECIPE IS ABOUT THE CLOSEST I'VE FOUND. IT IS S-O-O-O-O-O EASY TO MAKE AND IS ESPECIALLY DELICIOUS.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Turtle Creek, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Mckeesport, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2001
Mmmmm! The first time I made this, I followed the directions exactly, it came out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle Boman Wood

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2001
I served this at a formal dinner party and the guests raved! I tried a whole selection of mushrooms also. I just don't think you can mess this recipe up - it's so easy and so good! I saved some of the mushrooms to garnish on top too. Great presentation!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TMoore

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2001
The cook: 33 year-old, cooking-challenged bachelor. The victims: 5 family members over for Thanksgiving. The verdict: a great soup! Easy and quick to make, a hearty, rich soup that tastes wonderful. Not for the lactose-intolerant, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2001
We loved this soup..it was very flavorful and easy to make. I substitued condensed milk for the 1/2 'n 1/2.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2002
This soup has a delicous flavour but the butter could be cut back considerably. I pureèd about 2/3 of the soup once it was cooked to make it a "creamed" soup - something I would recommend be added to the recipe's original directions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2002
Came out like dirty dishwater. Don't know if I made it right or not.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2002
Like another reviewer, I put half of the finished soup in the blender to make this more of a "creamy" soup. The flavor is a little bland - I added some garlic, but it needs something else too, not sure what. Put some grated parmesan cheese on top before serving!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KEG18

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2003
This was so easy an it was so good its a perfect soup its quick an wonderful i thought the flavor was outstanding.... I love this allrecipe site i have enjoyed cooking so many wonderful recipes.... I will add this to my favorite recipe book i love it....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2004
This was so much better than the stuff you get out of cans! I added a little dried thyme and added a little olive oil to the butter at the beginning, and it was marvelous. Garlic might have been a good addition as well. Too bad I'm the only one I know who likes mushrooms. Oh, well, more for me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 160) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Creamy Mushroom Soup

Discover the simple trick to delicious homemade creamy mushroom soup.

Cream of Mushroom Soup I

See how to make rich, creamy mushroom soup from scratch.

Creamy Wild Mushroom Ragout

See how to make a creamy mushroom stew with wild mushrooms.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States