Creamy Mushroom Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2001
MY HUSBAND AND I BELONG TO A CHURCH BASED ON POLISH HERITAGE. EACH CHRISTMAS WE HAVE A CHRISTMAS DINNER AT CHURCH (CALLED WIGILIA) AND IT BEGINS WITH A MOST DELICIOUS MUSHROOM SOUP. I HAVE BEEN LOOKING FOR ANYTHING THAT RESEMBLES THIS SOUP. THIS RECIPE IS ABOUT THE CLOSEST I'VE FOUND. IT IS S-O-O-O-O-O EASY TO MAKE AND IS ESPECIALLY DELICIOUS.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Turtle Creek, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Mckeesport, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2001
Mmmmm! The first time I made this, I followed the directions exactly, it came out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle Boman Wood

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2001
I served this at a formal dinner party and the guests raved! I tried a whole selection of mushrooms also. I just don't think you can mess this recipe up - it's so easy and so good! I saved some of the mushrooms to garnish on top too. Great presentation!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TMoore

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2001
The cook: 33 year-old, cooking-challenged bachelor. The victims: 5 family members over for Thanksgiving. The verdict: a great soup! Easy and quick to make, a hearty, rich soup that tastes wonderful. Not for the lactose-intolerant, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2001
We loved this soup..it was very flavorful and easy to make. I substitued condensed milk for the 1/2 'n 1/2.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2002
This soup has a delicous flavour but the butter could be cut back considerably. I pureèd about 2/3 of the soup once it was cooked to make it a "creamed" soup - something I would recommend be added to the recipe's original directions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2002
Came out like dirty dishwater. Don't know if I made it right or not.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2002
Like another reviewer, I put half of the finished soup in the blender to make this more of a "creamy" soup. The flavor is a little bland - I added some garlic, but it needs something else too, not sure what. Put some grated parmesan cheese on top before serving!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KEG18

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2003
This was so easy an it was so good its a perfect soup its quick an wonderful i thought the flavor was outstanding.... I love this allrecipe site i have enjoyed cooking so many wonderful recipes.... I will add this to my favorite recipe book i love it....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2004
This was so much better than the stuff you get out of cans! I added a little dried thyme and added a little olive oil to the butter at the beginning, and it was marvelous. Garlic might have been a good addition as well. Too bad I'm the only one I know who likes mushrooms. Oh, well, more for me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 168) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John's Creamy Mushroom Soup

Discover the simple trick to delicious homemade creamy mushroom soup.

Cream of Mushroom Soup I

See how to make rich, creamy mushroom soup from scratch.

Creamy Asparagus and Cauliflower Soup

This simple veggie soup tastes rich and creamy, but it's completely dairy-free.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States