Creamy Mushroom Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2012
I would probably make this again, but it was a little bland. I added nutmeg and marjoram to the cinnamon. I also used red onion instead of shallots, and added a clove of garlic. I will decrease the butter next time. I used regular white mushrooms and baby bellas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2012
This is great. I tried to follow the recipe. You can use any combination of mushrooms. I added a little cooking sherry with the chicken broth. Yummmm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2012
This turned out really good! We like full flavor, so I used the recommended shallots. I also used mostly portabello mushrooms. I also added chicken to give it some protien and substance. I cut it into small cubes and cooked in a little butter with some of the shallots. I also doubled this recipe with the intention of feeding 4 people- but it will only be enough to feed 2 as a meal (my husband is a big eater). For feeding more, adding a salad and breadsticks helped stretch it. I also made it a little early and put it in the crockpot on warm. That way it is ready to go when everyone gets home, and you don't have to worry about scalding or boiling it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2012
Yummy... used 2 T butter and 1 T Olive Oil, button mushrooms, and whole milk. Didn't really like the cinnamon - I'll leave that out next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2012
The best ever! Just as easy as opening a can but 1 million times better. I didn't add the cinnamon but sprinkled in a little thyme since I love that flavor with mushrooms. Oh and make sure you brown the mushrooms to concentrate their yummy flavors!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2012
Wonderful recipe! I melted a couple ounces of Brie in the soup and it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2012
If I could give it more than 5 stars I would!!! This was a great soup! Used 1/2 the butter and used a little olive oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MALYNJNOLL

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2012
I do not even like mushrooms but I loved this soup. I made it exactly like written. But i did add one garlic since we are garlic lovers. I did use all portabello. I chopped small pieces. made enough for 4 bowls as a start to dinner
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2012
This is a delicious and easy recipe for anyone! I also substituted cinnamon with nutmeg to get that nice kick. Since I did not have cream, used 1 1/2 cup 2% milk instead (it's also a lighter option). Another ingredient substituted was shallot, instead used 1 1/2 tbsp of dried chopped onion (from Costco). Even with a few substitutions, the soup was delicious and will definitely make again! We put the soup over baked chicken cutlet and dinner was taken care of :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2011
Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 162) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Creamy Mushroom Soup

Discover the simple trick to delicious homemade creamy mushroom soup.

Cream of Mushroom Soup I

See how to make rich, creamy mushroom soup from scratch.

Creamy Wild Mushroom Ragout

See how to make a creamy mushroom stew with wild mushrooms.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States