Creamy Mushroom Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2014
Great base recipe. I had to do few modifications: i used only portobello mushrooms and satay them for about 20 min. I added flour to the warm broth- it mixes way easier then to mix flour with mushrooms. Added two potatoes cut in small cubes and boiled the soup for about 15 min (add 1-2 cups of water), then at the end add milk instead of half & half. Sprinkle with some fresh chopped parsley at the end. Served with foccacia bread. Delish!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
My first try at mushroom soup, and I'm glad I chose this recipe! Only had portobello, so that's what I used. I chopped the shrooms into small pieces. Used about 1/4 of an onion, chopped, in place of the shallots. Used skim milk instead of half and half. The mushroom flavor is so rich that I don't really think you need to use half and half. Also, I omitted the cinammon. YummY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2014
Great soup! Few things that I think make it even better - Start with some fine chopped carrots. Cook until golden-brown (1 to 3 min) and than add the mushrooms. Based on my experience the best herb for mushrooms is fresh DILL. I combine it with nutmeg (not cinnamon). Also instead of half-and-half I use 2% organic milk. You can also make some garlic bread - super combination!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2014
I made this to replace the high sodium can soup used in everyday recipes. I modified it a bit, instead of chicken broth I used organic low sodium vegetable broth, replaced the half and half with non dairy creamer and left out the salt. I allowed it to cool and divided it into 3/4 cup containers to freeze for later use. It is very tasty but I think it could be puréed before I use it for my next recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2013
EXCELLENT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Orchard Park, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2013
Made this using twice the mushrooms (4 cups) and 1 1/2 times everything else. Also added about three cups of cubed roast beef leftovers during the last 5 minutes or so of cooking. It was a meal in itself for two people. Oh, and I used the mushrooms I had available instead of those specified. Half were wild-harvested Chanterelles; the other half were store-bought white mushrooms.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paul Williams

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
This was a perfect soup all by it self and my family loved it. Thank you so much
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa Dawn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2013
I adapted this recipe to reduce the carbs and also make it more suitable for the vegetarians in the family. I purred the mixture and did not add flour. I also substituted coconut milk for cream. Delicious and much healthier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2013
The recipe is outstanding! I didn't know it was this easy. I used all baby portabello's, the shitakes were way too pricey in the stores near me. I reserved 1 c. of the chopped mushrooms... After sauteing I put it in the blender with 1/2 cup of the half and half. put it all in the pot. The color, the texture and the flavor were delicious. Was a huge hit with my oldest son. Mushroom soup is a family favorite especially in cold weather. I'm about to make more but this time am using beef broth only because portabellos are a beefy flavored mushroom. Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2013
Easy recipe, all natural ingredients used and tastes fantabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 162) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Creamy Mushroom Soup

Discover the simple trick to delicious homemade creamy mushroom soup.

Cream of Mushroom Soup I

See how to make rich, creamy mushroom soup from scratch.

Creamy Wild Mushroom Ragout

See how to make a creamy mushroom stew with wild mushrooms.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States