Creamy Mushroom Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: May 6, 2007
Outstanding! I did make some modifications based on what seemed right to me. Beef instead of chicken broth because I think it goes better with mushrooms. Shiitakes were $9 a pound at the market while portobelllos were half that, so I used all portobello! And finally, cinnamon sounded completely bizarre, but a grating of nutmeg sounded like just the ticket. Chop the mushrooms and shallots fine and you'll have no need to puree any of the soup. Saute them until well caramelized for best flavor and be generous with the peppermill and you'll have a fantastic rich soup. However, the shallot flavor was a bit strong, so I'll use half the quantity next time. I am going to serve with a salad and garlic bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
142 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chellebelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA
Reviewed: May 5, 2007
Great Soup! Very flavorful. It is also very good with just white mushrooms. This is my 17 year old sons number 1 request for a meal. Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fallbrook, California, USA
Living In: Belvidere, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2007
This was a bit bland for our taste. I am going to try this again adding garlic then puree about 1/3rd of the soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wilemon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Afton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Larkspur, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2007
I've made this twice, and it's been a big hit. I've varied the types of mushrooms, and the second time I also added some boiled potato for some bulk. The cinnamon adds a very, very nice touch and compliments the flavor of the mushrooms. I checked around the website and followed the advice of other recipes and added a 1/4 cup of sherry to the recipe as well. This is definitely a recipe I will keep!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2006
The taste was good, but way too thin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patricia Sasser Nilssen

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2006
Wow, this is excellent! I made it with brown mushrooms instead and it's fantastic! I also added a little extra chicken base to juice up the flavour, but it would have been fine without it. Highly recommend this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2006
YUM! I've made this twice and loved it both times. Served it with crusty french bread--doesn't get much better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2006
Surprisingly delicious and incredibly simple to make - I added Thyme and a pinch of tarragon and it was fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2006
Good basic soup, but like others have said, it is a little bland. Really easy to make, and it was fun to experiment with. I added some Marsala wine for flavor and beef boullion for color.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2006
I am giving this recipe 4 stars because it was an overall nice, pleasant soup that we enjoyed. But I can't really give it 5 stars because the broth tasted too much like chicken broth with cream, and that's with added onion and garlic and more mushrooms than called for. Even though I enjoyed the chunks of mushrooms I may try blending next time to make it more complex. Or try a different recipe. But this one is worth a shot, too - really not bad, just not perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pecs, Baranya, Hungary
Living In: Pamplona, Navarra, Spain

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 173) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Creamy Mushroom Soup

Discover the simple trick to delicious homemade creamy mushroom soup.

Cream of Mushroom Soup I

See how to make rich, creamy mushroom soup from scratch.

Creamy Asparagus and Cauliflower Soup

This simple veggie soup tastes rich and creamy, but it's completely dairy-free.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States