Creamy Mushroom Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2006
I tried this recipe last week and it was delicious! All cooks who love mushrooms should definately try this recipe. I used a large size cube instead of canned chicken broth. It turned out wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Donna

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waxahachie, Texas, USA
Living In: North Richland Hills, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2006
Well this is one of the few 5 star recipes that I absolutely did not like. It was extremely bland, so much so that I could not even eat it. Will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2006
Yum!!!!! My picky eaters even gave this a thumbs up! I will never used canned soup again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2006
I'm not usually a big fan of mushroom soup because all I've ever had was the icky stuff in a can. This recipe was Delicious ! ! ! I added the garlic and used my emersion blender to smooth out some of it. I also added some cayenne pepper to spice it up a bit. I’m definitely going to make this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Evanston, Illinois, USA
Living In: Round Lake Beach, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2006
Even though I had to substitute white button mushrooms, and use evaporated milk, this was awesome. I am quite sure it would be even better using the other mushrooms and half and half. I didn't have those in my pantry. I had a pound of button mushrooms that needed used up, so on a whim I made this soup. Super easy and my husband raved about it. I had supper made in less than 30 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2006
Loved it. Used only portabello mushrooms, about 3 cups diced. Used an immersion blender to chop up the majority of the mushrooms prior to serving. Added 2 large cloves of finely minced garlic, too. Passed on the cream, made a little roux and added 1% milk instead. Still was very creamy. A dash or two of liquid smoke near the end of the cooking. Those reviewers who said this looked like sink water are sadly lacking a real appreciation of what a good cream of mushroom soup should look like. This is not the popular, sanitized for public consumption, canned soup... this recipe is the real thing... A good chunk of crusty bread is required for dunking. Yum Delicious!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
113 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Photog

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brookfield, New York, USA
Living In: Clinton, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2005
Not bad... very easy to make, the only reason I gave it four stars is because it not thick enough, next time I will add another tablespoon of flour and see if that works.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by HAPPY002
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2005
This is really really good and very simple to make, literally a one-pot recipe! I followed the advice of some and blended half my soup, made it creamier and musch more exotic looking..better then those instant soups! Thanks Lori!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2005
This is a super soup! Very fast and easy to prepare and my husband says it's the best mushroom soup he's ever had. Goes well with french bread too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2005
very good- i used button mushroom instead of shitake with no adverse effects. the cinnamon was a surprise but gave it a great flavor. awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 160) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Creamy Mushroom Soup

Discover the simple trick to delicious homemade creamy mushroom soup.

Cream of Mushroom Soup I

See how to make rich, creamy mushroom soup from scratch.

Creamy Wild Mushroom Ragout

See how to make a creamy mushroom stew with wild mushrooms.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States