Creamy Mushroom Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2008
This was pretty good, added garlic powder for more flavor and used shitake, oyster and portabello mushrooms.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrsfalgoutcooks

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2008
I love this soup.Quick and easy. I add white wine to mine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DONNAMICHELLE1

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chesapeake, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2007
this was delicious! I used milk instead of cream, but still was creamy. it was so good! you should try it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2007
May I add my "yums" to the other reviews? This is a very easy, tasty soup that can be altered by the cook. I used canned mushrooms and some Paula Deen seasoning plus some tarragon. Used my new stick blender to puree. I had used only 1 and 1/2 cups mushroom in the soup. I added the other 1/2 at the end, non-pureed. Terrific recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Painesville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2007
this soup was great very good taste and i dont even like mushrooms but i ate every bit of the soup great recipe will be making again thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2007
This is the first time I made soup like this from scratch so I was a bit worried how it will turned out. After reading some of the reviews, I decided to use milk instead of the cream. The amount of mushroom makes the soup very thick so I double the amount of broth and put in 1.5 times more milk. They turned out great! Love it! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Sembawang, North Region, Singapore

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2007
I've been searching a long time for easy to make, yet delicious mushroom soup. And this is it! It doesn't take more than 30mins to cook and ingredients are easy to get. Made this at least 3 times. Boyfriend and family just can't get enough. Thank you so much for this wonderful recipe! Will continue making this for a very long time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2007
I made this soup to start this year's Thanksgiving dinner, and it was a hit. I would definitely recommend adding the cinnamon, I sampled the soup before and after adding it and it added a subtle and delicious flavour. I loved this soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2007
This soup was wonderful! I used it to get through my post-wisdom-tooth removal, and boy am I glad I did. I tripled all of the ingredients except for the half half and half. I had heavy cream on hand instead, so I used 1 cup of heavy cream with the rest of the tripled ingredients. The balance was perfect, and I thought that adding any more dairy would have made the soup too rich. I also added some dried marjoram and dried thyme (about 1 tsp marjoram and 1 tbsp thyme), which added a lovely, woodsy depth of flavor to the soup. Fresh herbs would probably be better, but I didn't have any on hand. I had to puree the soup because of my teeth, but I'm pretty sure that I would always puree it regardless. It gave the soup the perfect velvety texture, and would probably deal with some of the "dishwater appearance" complaints that some other reviewers had. It may be nice to reserve some of the mushroom mixture before pureeing, and then adding them back in to add some chunkiness to the texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2007
Loved it - used all shiitake mushrooms, made for a very strong mushroom taste. Also used onion instead of shallots, blended all of it to make it smooth. Even my mom (the pickiest eater in the world!) loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 160) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Creamy Mushroom Soup

Discover the simple trick to delicious homemade creamy mushroom soup.

Cream of Mushroom Soup I

See how to make rich, creamy mushroom soup from scratch.

Creamy Wild Mushroom Ragout

See how to make a creamy mushroom stew with wild mushrooms.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States