Creamy Mushroom Risotto Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2007
This turned out great with a few alterations. First, I didn't use the water and the cream of mushroom soup as a previous reviewer stated it turned out gloppy. Second, I used 8 ounces of fresh sliced white button mushrooms. Third, I substituted mushroom broth for the chicken. So, I just skipped the 1st two steps and cooked the mushrooms until they were soft.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2007
This was so good and it made so much, that with only two of us, we ate it 3 nights in a row. I just left it in the pot each night with the top on (in the refrigerator of course), and then when I wanted it for the next night, I just put the pot back on the stove and slowly added around a cup of broth again. My boyfriend and I both thought it got better each night!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2007
Made this last night for company, and although I enjoyed it, I didn't get the rave reviews I was expecting for the amount of time it took to prepare it. You need to allow more time than the recipe indicates. I used skim milk and Aborio rice but otherwise followed the recipe exactly as printed. The flavor was good if a little bland for my palate and the next time I make it (yes, I will make it again) I will include more garlic and other seasonings to spice it up a little bit. It was pretty sticky and I have to agree with other reviewers who thought it had the consistancy of oatmeal. Still, I thought it had a good flavor and would be a good starting point for my next Risotto attempt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ventura, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2007
pretty good, lots of stirring, so make sure you have time to devote. its not pretty to look at but the flavor is good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stacy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2006
I made this with vegetable broth and a good helping of fresh mushrooms (button and portabello), and it turned out nicely. I also stirred in some grated parmesan before serving. Tasted great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2006
My husband and I loved it. This was my first try at making risotto, and it turned out to be easier than I thought, though time consuming. The results were worth it! I used fresh baby portabello mushrooms instead of the porcini, and low fat mushroom soup. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Donna B

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Addison, Illinois, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2006
This risotto was wonderful! It was so easy and so good! Unfortunately my husband hated it....not because of the taste, he hated the texture. Definitely five stars though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUSAN201

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cambridge, Maryland, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2006
This is probably more a 3.5 because it did taste good. However the fact that it's not the prettiest dish and the consistency was as my daughter put it kind of gloopy makes me doubt that I would make it again. This may well be something that I did though. I did use vegetable stock instead of chicken to make it vegetarian and we did all eat it and just because it didn't entirely work for me doesn't mean it won't for somebody else. Thanks for letting me try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: St Austell, Cornwall, England, U.K.
Living In: Plymouth, Devon, England, U.K.
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2006
I made this for my boyfriend, brother, and brother's new girlfriend and everyone really loved it. My brother said it was the best risotto he'd ever had! I was having a poor day though, so used (lots and lots of)cheddar instead of parmesan, and the big wide mushrooms. Had with a crispy salad with vinaigrette, perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LESLEYfromWI
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2006
We really enjoyed this dish. Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LESLEYfromWI

Displaying results 21-30 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Gourmet Mushroom Risotto

Watch how to make this delicious mushroom risotto.

Chef John's Baked Mushroom Risotto

Chef John's rich, creamy risotto lets the oven do some of the work. Genius!

Creamy Wild Mushroom Ragout

See how to make a creamy mushroom stew with wild mushrooms.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States